book review

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare || Book Review

WARNING: This review contains spoilers for the first book, City of Bones.

ShadowhuntersTitle: City of Ashes

           ( The Mortal Instruments #2 )

Author: Cassandra Clare

First published: 28. March 2008

Edition: Margaret K. McElderry Books

                  Paperback, 512 pages

Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult | Paranormal

Summary:

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go—especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil—and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings—and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 4 out of 5 stars ►

First of all I would like to mention a few things, before I actually start my review:

  • I was debating whether or not to continue reviewing this series, I just didn’t feel that it was needed – as nearly everyone has read these books. But I really wanted to write about these books, as I continue reading them – just for myself, no other reason.
  • So, basically there are going to be reviews for The Mortal Instruments as I continue reading the series.
  • I don’t know how long the reviews are going to be. The length of them might vary from book to book. (Depending on how much I have to say about each one, obviously.)

That’s all that I wanted to say beforehand. Now, let’s get into the review!


I love the world that Cassandra Clare has created in her books. I just find all aspects of it fascinating and very enjoyable to read about. I’m more fascinated with Downworlders than with Shadowhunters. I don’t know, I just find them more interesting.

There was A LOT more of Magnus in this book and I couldn’t be happier about that! He is, after all, my favourite character and the reason I decided to read this series in the first place. I fell in love with him in The Infernal Devices and I knew that I had to read The Mortal Instruments just because of him. So I’m very happy that I got to read a lot more about him than in the previous book. I do hope he continues appearing a lot in future books as well.

Now onto the other characters. I do like most of them. Alec, Izzy and Simon are amazing and I adore reading about them. They are all very interesting and I enjoy learning more about them, plus their interactions are always fun to read. Then there are Jace and Clary. I really don’t like either of them, I didn’t like them in the first book and I still don’t like them. I have to be honest, I’m warming up towards Jace a little bit (and I do mean a LITTLE BIT). But Clary is the most annoying character that I have ever encountered. I dislike her very much, I can’t even count the times I wanted to punch her while reading about her. She seriously frustrates me.

I also hate the relationship of Jace and Clary. It’s my least favourite aspect of the whole book. I thought I could escape it, at least for a while, now that they are siblings. But nooo, I still had to deal with them and their emotions for each other. It was even worse than in the first book, which I didn’t think could be possible. Also Clary’s other romantic relationship in this book was pointless and frustrating as well. I really felt bad for the guy, as Clary is clearly obsessed with Jace.

I’m glad that we got to see more of Valentine in this book. He is a character that interested me in the first book and I wanted to know more about him as soon as he was introduced. So I’m very happy that we got more of him in this book. I really like him as the villain of the story.

The story in this book was a lot more interesting than in the first one. I found it flowed better and the pacing was good as well. Not much more I can say about that without going into spoiler territory, so I’ll be leaving it at this.

OVERALL:

I enjoyed this book a lot more than City of Bones. I loved the fact that I got more of Magnus. I’m still very much disliking Jace and Clary, both on their own and together. Overall I enjoyed myself while reading this book and I’m very much looking forward to continue with this series and seeing where the story will go.


Have you read City of Ashes? What did you think of it? Do you agree with anything I said? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading my review. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

9 thoughts on “City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare || Book Review

  1. Hiii! I’ve recently finished the series this month &, I agree with you about Clary. She annoyed me HEAPS but, she does get better. I love Magnus too, he’s one of my favourite characters in the whole series & he does become a big part later on. Be prepared to have your heart ripped apart. Lovely post!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great review Anna, and I’m glad to see you enjoyed this book more than City of Bones as well. I still have this whole series on my to-read list, I read the first three books back when they were first released but then never picked up the series again when all the other books came out. Now everyone is raving about Lady Midnight and although I really want to read it I can’t because I need to get through all the other books first.
    It’s a shame you don’t like Clary and Jace much but at least there are the secondary characters making the story worthwhile for you. It’s especially good there’s more Magnus in this book considering he’s why you picked this series up in the first place. 🙂
    Also do you watch the Shadowhunters series on TV?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Beth! 🙂
      At first I wasn’t really interested in the series, I always pushed it back and in the end never actually got around to it. But I was VERY interested in The Infernal Devices, as I love books set in the Victorian era. So I decided to read them and I fell in love with the world – that’s when I decided to actually read this series as well. I can’t wait to get to Lady Midnight either, I have heard many amazing things about it! But I guess we are in the same boat of having to read The Mortal Instruments first! XD
      I’m loving all the secondary characters and I’m hoping that Clary and Jace will grow on me, as the series continue. If not I’ll have fun hating on them.
      No, I’m not watching Shadowhunters. I really don’t know if I want to watch it. What about you?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. That’s all right Yeah I feel I was more interested in the series when I was younger, now I seem to keep passing it by in favour of other books, but one day I’ll get around to it again, hopefully this year as well. I’m glad to hear The Infernal Devices worked for you, maybe I should try reading that trilogy first! 🙂
        I hope you enjoy Lady Midnight, I’m guessing you’ll get around to it long before I do so I’ll be looking forwards to your review of that one.
        I’m sure they will, but in the meantime you still have the secondary characters at least. 😀
        I watch it, and I really enjoy it as well. It doesn’t stay true to the books but I’m really enjoying the direction they’re going with the show.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

