wrap up

January 2017 || Wrap Up

January was a rather good month for me, even though I was very busy most of the time. The first week of the month I spent in my home town with my family and friends. It was simply wonderful being with all of them again. Afterwards I came back to Vienna where I continued going to classes and studying, as per usual. January passed by waaay too fast for me, I honestly have no idea where the time went.


BOOKS I READ:

Ever since I decided not to force myself to read a high amount of books in a year (for a few years I had set my goal to 70 books) I haven’t been pressuring myself to read if I’m not feeling like it. Last year, during the second half of it to be more precise, I felt as if I HAD to read and I wasn’t enjoying it as much as I usually do. Now with this change I’m feeling a lot happier and I’m loving reading at a slower pace! I just love not feeling guilty if I don’t read at least 5 books per month or more.

In January I read three books in total and I really enjoyed all of them!

Victoria SchwabA Darker Shade of agic by V. E. Schwab

5 out of 5 stars

I simply adored this book. Not that I expected anything else, after all it does sound as something I would love and it’s written by one of my favourite authors, Victoria Schwab. This book is definitely a new favourite of mine, hopefully the entire series will be.

I’m glad that I decided to read this book now, as it means that I don’t have to wait for the next book to come out! In fact, I already own it. I plan on reading A Gathering of Shadows very soon (or rather some time in February, just before the third book comes out). I’m very exited to see where the story will go and I just can’t wait to read more about the characters that I have come to love.

ShadowhuntersCity of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

4 out of 5 stars

I finally decided to continue reading The Mortal Instruments. For some reason I kept on putting this book off, probably because I don’t own any of the other books in the series (and I’m on a book buying ban, so I can’t buy them either).

I enjoyed this book a lot more than City of Bones, which I’m very happy about. There was a lot more Magnus in this one and I couldn’t be happier about that. I’m still not liking Jace and Clary, they both annoy me a great deal. But I love all the side characters. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book in the series and continue reading this story.

Agatha ChristieAnd Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

4 out of 5 stars

I adore reading the mysteries that Agatha Christie writes. They always manage to grip me and I find it very hard to put them down. This one was no exception! I found the whole premise of the story very intriguing. Getting stuck on an island while someone is murdering people around me sounds terrifying. The mystery was amazing and I kept second guessing everything and everyone until the end. I love it when a mystery manages to do that.

This is definitely one of my favourite Agatha Christie books that I have read so far. It felt also very unique, as it didn’t have one single main character – like in the Poirot books that I have read so far by her. This book definitely surprised me, in the best way possible.


BLOG POSTS:

Reviews:

Tags:

Miscellaneous:


How was your January? Did you have a good reading month? What was your favourite book that you read? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

29 thoughts on “January 2017 || Wrap Up

  1. I get so ridiculously side tracked with everyone’s posts I remember seeing ADSOM on my feed and I said to myself “Yay she finally read it!” And then I get side tracked! So now I have to make sure I go read it now, wrap ups are good for this sort of thing! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello, I am a new book blogger so I thought I would stop by and say hello. My name is Krystina. I am also reading the Mortal Instruments series and am currently on the first book of the Infernal Devices series. I won’t spoil anything for you but expect the books to keep getting better because they totally do. City of Glass is even better than City of Ashes. I have been wanting to read A Darker Shade of Magic so hopefully this will be the year lol. I am trying to read at least 5 books a month and hoping to read more but its tough sometimes. Anywho, have fun reading this month!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello, welcome to the book blogging community! 🙂 I adore The Infernal Devices, those books are simply amazing. I hope you will enjoy them as well. Glad to hear that the books get better and better, it makes me even more exited to continue reading the series. I can only recommend ADSOM, it was a fantastic book and I hope you get around to it this year. Thank you! I hope you have a great February as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great recap for the month Anna, and I think not pressuring yourself to read is the best way to go with this. I always find if I’m not in the mood to read then pressuring myself to always results in a book slump. Now though I seem to be at that stage where I want to read but just can’t find the time to. :/
    A Darker Shade of Magic is an amazing book and I am so glad to see you gave it five stars. You still have plenty of time before the third book is released, certainly more than enough time to read and love the second one! 😀
    It looks like you had a good January so I hope you have an amazing February as well. 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Beth! 🙂 For me it was: I wasn’t feeling like reading, but I wanted to hit my reading goal so I “forced” myself to read and then I didn’t enjoy the books I read that much, as it felt like a chore. So I’m glad that I’m not caring about the numbers anymore! 😀 Ugh, it’s the worst when you are in a reading mood but don’t have the time to actually read. Hope you get some more free time soon!
      Yes! I’m very exited to be reading the second book, but I want to first finish an exam that I have on the 9th of February – so that I can fully concentrate on the book. That’s also going to give me enough time to read it before the third book comes out! 😀
      My January was great, thank you! ❤ I hope your February will be amazing as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, and I completely get what you mean. We all read for fun and because we love it, none of us on here want to get to the stage where reading has become a chore or anything. It’s the quickest way to throw yourself into a slump in my opinion. Besides enjoying books is always more important the numbers or stats; quality over quantity and all that.
        Next week should be calmer for me, certainly can’t be more stressful than this week was so there’s always that.
        Ohh yeah exams have to come first don’t they, still at least once it’s over you can read without it hanging over your head. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like you had a pretty good reading month, Anna! I know exactly what you mean about not pressuring yourself to read. That’s what I’ve been doing and even though it means I don’t finish nearly as many books in a month it means I enjoy reading more. Especially after my terrible slump at the end of last year. Also, I so can’t wait until next month when I can finally read ADSOM. I really hope I end up enjoying it as much as you. I hope you end up having a fantastic February!! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My month was really good, after all I enjoyed everything that I read! 🙂 Yeah, it’s a very nice not feeling pressured to read – after all reading is something I love doing and not a chore. I’m reading less as well (I usually manage at least double of what I read this month), but I really don’t care about that. I’m just happy to be enjoying the books that I do read! 🙂 I really hope you will love ADSOM as much as I did! Thank you! I hope you have a fantastic February as well. ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great wrap up Anna! I ADORED A Darker Shade of Magic when I read it and gave it 5 stars too. I’m currently reading the sequel, A Gathering of Shadows and LOVING it! Are you planning to read the sequel soon? I really want to read And Then There Were None as well, so I’m happy to hear you liked it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kate! 🙂 I’m glad that you loved ADSOM as well! I plan on reading A Gathering of Shadows really soon, after I’m done with an exam that I have to study for (which is on the 9th of February) – so that I can completely concentrate on the book. I’m soooo happy to hear that you are loving the sequel as well, it makes me even more exited to get around to it! 😀 And There Were None was very interesting, I hope you end up enjoying it as well, when you get around to it.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. ADSOM was simply amazing! I can’t believe I waited this long to read it. I’m sure I’ll enjoy A Gathering of Darkness as well. 🙂 Yeah, I’m glad as well especially since I hear that the books just get better, it makes me even more exited to continue reading the series. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I so hear you on the pressure of reading. It’s weird, because I love reading, but ever since goals and monthly wrap-ups came into play, there is also this pressure and I don’t like it. So, now I am in a reading AND writing slump and it drives me nuts! But no matter how many books you read, it’s only fun if they are good ones and you seem to have had some really good ones 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I feel the same. Especially when I’m blogging about books, I feel as if I need to read many books each month so that I have a variety to talk about. This year I’m trying not to care and just read however much I want. It’s seriously the best decision I made, I’m already a lot more relaxed. 🙂 Uhhh, I can only imagine! I hope you get out of both slumps soon! ❤ Slumps are seriously the worst. Yeah, I have read some great ones in January and I'm very pleased with that! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly! The reason I started blogging (to talk about books), is now the reason I am stressed out about reading. Oh well, everything passes and even if I do a TBR, I am always going to read whatever I am in the mood for. Otherwise there is no way I can take in the words.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It was the same for me, I didn’t have real life friends who were readers sooo I decided to make a blog. I’m a mood reader as well, I can’t stick to TBR no matter how hard I try. Once I put a book on my TBR I’m no longer in the mood to read it. So I stopped making them, as they really don’t work for me.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

