top five wednesday

Favorite Non-Written Novels || Top Five Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday

Top Five Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @GingerReadsLainey and she has passed down the torch to Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. For more information and for future topics you can check out the goodreads group.


This week the topic is our favourite non-written novels, which includes graphic novels and manga – I LOVE both! (Well, there are also comics, audiobooks and more but I don’t personally read them soooo I have no favourite when it comes to them.) So I have decided to make my own list this week, or rather a double list (plus it’s been ages since I did a Top Five Wednesday post). I will be listing five of my favourite graphic novels and five of my favourite romance manga. As it was Valentines Day yesterday, I though picking my favourite romance manga would be fitting. (Plus I have read a ton of manga and picking five favourite manga in general would be impossible.)


GRAPHIC NOVELS

Even though I love them, I haven’t read that many graphic novels…I know, I know. I really want to read more buuuuut they are sooo expensive and I don’t have the money. Especially since most of the ones I’m interested in are apart of a series. (My library doesn’t have them either.) Sad times. Hopefully I’ll be able to read more in the future!

  • Saga is actually the first graphic novel that I ever read. And I loved it! (Obviously.) So far I have read the fist 4 volumes and I have enjoyed all of them. I just find the whole story, world and characters fascinating! I can’t wait to read more from this story.
  • Deadly Class is one I didn’t expect to love as much as I did. I honestly have no idea why I thought I wouldn’t like it. I’m sooo happy that I decided to give it a chance and read it! So far I have only read the first volume, but I already love it and I can’t wait to get my hands on the other volumes as well!
  • Chew is one of the uniquest stories that I have ever come across. (In any form of media that is.) So far I have read 6 volumes and they were all fantastic! I just find the whole concept of having special abilities centred around food interesting, plus the main character is amazing. (Which is always wonderful.)
  • Nimona is a graphic novel that I got recommended a ton, before I actually picked it up. I was hesitant because it didn’t seem like something I would enjoy – for some reason I thought it would be a cute story (probably because I only knew the art style), Buuut I was sooo wrong! This story surprised me in the best way possible!
  • Through the Woods may be my all time favourite graphic novel. I just love everything about it (and I may have reread it five times already).  I love the art style, how the short stories are creepy and they feel like fairy tales, which I love as well. Basically I love everything about this graphic novel!

MANGA:

As I mentioned in the beginning, I have read waaaay too much manga to be able to pick only five favourites. I have actually read OVER 250 of them (thank you MyAnimeList for helping me keep track) – I was surprised by that high number as well. So you can imagine how hard it would be to pick 5 favourites out of that many. That’s why I decided to pick my five favourite romance manga that have been completed! (And even that was hard.)

  • Kaichou wa Maid-sama! is one of the first manga that I read. (Or that I remember reading, who know anymore.) I have been following it as the chapters were coming out, so there is no way I wouldn’t mention it here. I just love the characters and the relationships in this manga. I should definitely reread parts of it soon, it’s been ages since I read it. (And I mean parts, because this manga is rather long.)
  • Yankee-kun to Megane-chan is definitely not the most romantic manga out there, by far. I love the story, the characters and the humour in this manga sooo much! This one is rather long and you need to read quiet a bit before you get to the romantic parts, buuut it’s so worth it. The characters and story are just wonderful!
  • Lovely★Complex has one of my all time favourite romances! It’s about a very tall girl and a short boy, which you don’t see very often. Aside from that the two main characters, Risa and Otani, are wonderful on their own as well! (Plus also very cute!) I definitely need to reread this manga some time in the future, it’s been a long time since I read it and I need a cute romance in my life.
  • Sora Log is a rather short manga (especially compared to the ones I just mentioned), but it’s still very good and one of my favourites. I love the main female character from this manga, she is just wonderful! Plus it also has an amazing romance and I just love it. It’s definitely one I would recommend to everyone.
  • Seven Days is just wonderful. I love the story, the characters and the relationship as well. Same as the one before, it’s rather short but still amazing. I have reread this manga quiet a few times as well and I love it more each time (which I didn’t think would be possible). I really wish there was a sequel to this story, I just need more from these two characters!

These were my favourite graphic novels and romance manga!

Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? What are your favourite graphic novels and manga? Do let me know!

Thank you for reading, I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

29 thoughts on “Favorite Non-Written Novels || Top Five Wednesday

  1. I did like Nimona. I had to get used to the art style, but man Sir Goldenloin will forever make me giggle. I’ll have to try some of those mangas too; I do want to try a few since it’s been forever since I’ve read a lot of it 🙂 great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, the art style is a bit different. But I really enjoyed it as well. I agree, Sir Goldenloin will always make me giggle as well. I can only recommend all of them and I hope you’ll enjoy them as much as I did! 🙂 Thank you.

      Like

  2. I really need to read more graphic novels. The only one on your list I’ve actually picked up myself is Nimona, and I loved it so much it kind of made me want to read more and more. For some reason I never picked anymore up and I’m not sure why.
    I have Wires and Nerve, the Lunar Chronicles graphic novel to get started on, and a few other recommendations too. I’ll have to bookmark this post to come back to for even more.
    Great post Anna! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nimona is seriously amazing! I loved the art style, the story and characters were very interesting as well. It’s definitely a great one to start out with. 🙂 I can only recommend you to read more, graphic novels are amazing! (Though I definitely need to read more of them as well.)
      I’m really exited about Wires and Nerve, I have heard great things about it. Though I need to finish the Lunar Chronicles first. XD I really hope you enjoy it! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know the artist who did Nimona had another graphic novel out so I guess I can start with that one and work my way through some others afterwards.
        Wires and Nerve sounds amazing, I haven’t gotten around to it yet but I can’t wait to get started soon because I loved The Lunar Chronicles so much.
        That’s all right! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome list! I agree with you about how difficult it can be to get graphic novels cos of how expensive they are- but recently I was able to get a few things to get me started in the library and get some second hand- but I digress…. I really want to read Saga, Nimona and Through the Woods- they look/sound so good!! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! Yeah, it can be really difficult because of that. It’s great when a library has them and you can read them that way! (Sadly that’s not the case for me.) I can only recommend all three of them, they are all amazing though also very different from each other. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Kaichou wa no Maid-Sama! I LOVE it so much! ❤ It's just one of my favorite shoujos of all time.
    I've heard great things about the others too, but unfortunately have yet to get to them. I'm hoping to read Saga sometime soon and possibly Nimona.
    Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a great list! I have read all the graphic novels with the exception of Deadly Class. I’ll have to look into that! Have you read any of Noelle Stevenson’s other works? Lumberjanes is also a ton of fun.

    I haven’t read any of the manga, sadly. I used to read a lot of it, but I stopped reading it frequently in the early 2000s… I just got to be a real challenge to acquire from a library. I’ll need to start digging in again and see if I can find some accessible around me. Which one would you recommend I start with?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Deadly Class was really good, I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. It’s a rather dark story as well. I hope you enjoy it, if you decide to pick it up! I haven’t read anything else by Noelle Stevenson, I definitely need to change that! Plus I have heard amazing things about Lumberjanes, so I definitely need to check it out.
      I usually read manga online (my library has none, so I don’t have that much of a choice when it comes to it). Well, it depends on what genre you want to read. I would recommend all the ones I mentioned in this post, if you want to read romance. BUT if you have another genre you would like to read, just name it and I’ll give you a recommendation! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I use to read graphic novels all the time but haven’t in years. I so need to put that as one of my reading goals for this year lol. Anyway! I’ve not read any of these yet but I’ve heard a lot of good things about Saga, Nimona, and Through the Woods. Those three are definitely on my TBR. Great list, Anna! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, graphic novels are just a lot of fun! Plus they help you achieve your reading goal faster. 😉 I can only recommend all of them, since I enjoyed them all! I would recommend starting with Nimona though…no real reason, I just want to know what you’ll think of it! (Plus unlike Saga, it’s a standalone so you won’t have to wait for new volumes.) Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

