standalone sunday

Standalone Sunday: Ready Player One

bda2700e760fb14e84818015cf5a36dd

Standalone Sunday is a weekly feature created by Megan @bookslayerReads that allows us to feature books that are not part of a series that we loved.

In the most recent personal life update I mentioned that I wanted to start doing more features on my blog. This is one of them! You may know that I love reading series (as fantasy is my favourite genre and those books tend to be series), but I adore standalone books as well. And I’m very happy that this feature allows me to showcase the ones I loved. For my first post I decided to chose one of my favourite books of all time!


Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Ready Player OneIt’s the year 2044, and the real world has become an ugly place. We’re out of oil. We’ve wrecked the climate. Famine, poverty, and disease are widespread. Like most of humanity, Wade Watts escapes this depressing reality by spending his waking hours jacked into the OASIS, a sprawling virtual utopia where you can be anything you want to be, where you can live and play and fall in love on any of ten thousand planets. And like most of humanity, Wade is obsessed by the ultimate lottery ticket that lies concealed within this alternate reality: OASIS founder James Halliday, who dies with no heir, has promised that control of the OASIS – and his massive fortune – will go to the person who can solve the riddles he has left scattered throughout his creation.

For years, millions have struggled fruitlessly to attain this prize, knowing only that the riddles are based in the culture of the late twentieth century. And then Wade stumbles onto the key to the first puzzle.Suddenly, he finds himself pitted against thousands of competitors in a desperate race to claim the ultimate prize, a chase that soon takes on terrifying real-world dimensions – and that will leave both Wade and his world profoundly changed.


I read Ready Player One in the beginning of 2015, I believe that it was the first book I read that year, and I absolutely ADORED it! The whole concept of the story speaks to me, as I’m quiet a big gamer as well. (Plus I do love all things nerdy!) This book managed to grip me from page one, which doesn’t happen that often.

I loved all the characters, the more I read about them the more I loved them. I was fascinated by the world created within this book, and I mean both the real world and the virtual one. There were many surprises as well, that I never saw coming. The whole quest of finding the answers to the riddles was captivating, I greatly enjoyed reading it and I just couldn’t put this book down. (I read it in a day or two.)

I definitely need to reread this book some time in the future, it’s been way too long since I first read it and for some reason I have never gotten around to rereading it. This is a book I would definitely recommend to everyone, as I have a feeling a lot of people would enjoy it.


Have you read Ready Player One? What did you think of it?

Thank you very much for reading, I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

21 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: Ready Player One

  1. Great pick for this week Anna. I’ve heard a few things about Ready Player One, I think one of my friends read it a couple of years ago and ended up really loving it, but before your post I never actually bothered to read the blurb or anything.
    Now I have it sounds amazing, this is one I am definitely going to be adding to my to-read list. Also I’m very intrigued about the whole idea of a quest to find the answers to the riddles. It sounds amazing.
    Again great pick for this week! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Beth!
      You definitely should check it out. It’s a very interesting story and also very fun to read. Plus, everyone I know that has read this book, has loved it! (Even people that usually don’t read much.) I hope you’ll love it as much as I did, if you decide to pick it up! 😀

      Like

  2. I. Loved. This. Book! Seriously loved it! I’m a bit of a gamer myself, so I enjoyed the riddles and the gaming adventure throughout the book. I thought it was such a unique idea for a story and I will never forget this one! You know what’s funny though? For my Standalone post today, I originally made the post about this book. Then I saw that another blogger did theirs about it, so I ended up changing it. Then I opened my WordPress Reader to see that you did yours on this book too!! Lol! That’s awesome because that just tells you how amazing of a book this is, that three of us wanted to do our post on it today! Great pick and thanks so much for participating!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YESS! This book is seriously fantastic! I’m so glad to hear you loved it as well. 😀 Hahaha, that’s really funny! Apparently a lot of us had the same idea for which book to chose. And yes, it does show just how amazing the book is! Thank you!! 🙂 And I look forward to participating many more times in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. One of my best friends, who isn’t much of a reader, recommended this to me forever ago. It’s been on my TBR ever since but I haven’t had the chance to get around to it. I really love the whole concept though and I’ll definitely have to get to it soon. Great pick for this week, Anna! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

