top five wednesday

Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump || Top Five Wednesday

Feature

Top Five Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @GingerReadsLainey and she has passed down the torch to Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. For more information and for future topics you can check out the goodreads group.


This week the theme is centred around the best books to bring you out of a reading slump. For that I have decided to pick fast paced and captivating books that I just couldn’t put down. (So be prepared for me to mention that a lot during this post.) And that could potentially get you out of a reading slump!

I say potential becauseΒ when I’m in a reading slump no book can get me out – I just need to take some time away from reading and do other things. But anyway, I will recommend some books I think could help with reading slumps. (Even if it doesn’t really apply to me.)


  • Where Things Come Back is contemporary story that has a very engrossing mystery. I read this book in one sitting, I just needed to know what was going to happen and I wanted to know the solution to the mystery as well. This book did not disappoint me, it was really amazing!
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane is a rather short book, but very captivating non the less. This is another book that I read in one sitting. I just couldn’t get enough of the world and Neil Gaiman’s writing. This is a magical realism book, so it was very fun seeing magical elements being incorporated into the real world.
  • Six of Crows is one of my all time favourite books and one I read fairly recently. The story was amazing, with many twists and turns where you just wanted to continue reading and never putting the book down! Plus the characters are amazing and I loved every single one of them! (The main six ones I mean.)
  • Vicious is one of my all time favourite books. I was captivated by the story and the characters from page one and I couldn’t put this book down. (Which seems to be the theme this week.) This is a book I would definitely recommend everyone to read!
  • Ready Player One is my go-to recommendation when it comes to fast paced and engrossing books. I was simply fascinated by everything that was happening and I couldn’t stop reading it. I read it in one day, it was just that good.

Those were my picks for the best books to get you out of a reading slump!

Have you read any of the books I mentioned? What did you think of them? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading, I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Annaβ™₯

30 thoughts on “Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump || Top Five Wednesday

  1. Ready Player One and Six of Crows are both on my TBR and I am actually keeping the latest for a slump, as it seems everyone is always raving about it! πŸ™‚ If it doesn’t work, I’ll turn to my Stephanie Plum series or Harry Potter πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ready Player One was the first ever audio book I listened to that I actually fully got into. Me and my partner were listening to it while driving to our holiday destination, and then during the whole holiday and what an experience that was! If I got into that much from an audio book I can only imagine how could reading the actual book will be. I am really tempted to buy the book and give it a read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s amazing! I’m glad that you enjoyed the audiobook. Plus it’s always amazing when a book is connected to another life experience, in this case your holiday. Well, as it’s one of my all time favourite books I can only recommend picking it up and giving it a read. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read all of the books on your list this week Anna but I definitely agree that Six of Crows and Vicious could pull me out of a reading slump. Actually I almost think it would be better to say any book by V.E. Schwab and any book by Leigh Bardugo could pull me out of a reading slump! πŸ˜€
    I have Ready Player One on my to-read list, maybe I should save it for the next time I feel like I’m approaching a book slump and see if it saves me from that fate or something. πŸ™‚
    Great picks for this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those two books are really great picks if you are feeling slumpy! Same with me, as I adore all the books that Victoria Schwab and Leigh Bardugo have written. I was seriously debating which of their books to pick for this week! πŸ˜€
      I think it’s a great idea to read Ready Player One when you feel a book slump coming up. I think you will enjoy it and it might help you with the reading slump. Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I should come up with my own list of books like these for the next time I’m in a slump, I may need them. I think you could have gone with any by either author and it would have been a great pick! πŸ˜€
        I’ll definitely remember that and I’ll add the book to my to-read list ready for me next slump (which hopefully won’t be too soon!)

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Anything by V.E. Schwab and Leigh Bardugo is sure to take one out of a reading slump! I haven’t read any of the others yet but Ready, Player One and Neil Gaiman’s book have been on my TBR since they first came out.
    Great list! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yesss it really is! They both write amazing and exiting books, so definitely great when you are in a slump. Ready Player One is seriously amazing! I can only recommend it. Neil Gaiman books are wonderful as well, I really love his writing style. I haven’t read nearly enough of his books, hopefully I’ll be getting to more of his books soon! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

