standalone sunday

Standalone Sunday: The Martian

Feature

Standalone Sunday is a weekly feature created by Megan @bookslayerReads that allows us to feature books, that are not part of a series, that we loved.


The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm forces his crew to evacuate the planet while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded on Mars’s surface, with no way to signal Earth that he’s alive. And even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone years before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, Mark won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first.

Armed with nothing but his ingenuity, his engineering skills–and a gallows sense of humor that proves to be his greatest source of strength–Mark embarks on a dogged quest to stay alive. But will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?


It’s been a while since I have written about this book, hasn’t it? It certainly feels that way.

Anyway, The Martian is one of the most amazing and fantastically funny books that I have ever read. It’s also a book that I would consider a favourite of mine. I didn’t know what exactly to expect from it going in, as I only knew that it’s about a guy that gets stuck on Mars for some reason. Don’t get me wrong, it was exactly that but also so much more!

Mark Watney is the single most hilarious and resourceful character that I have ever read about. As he is stuck on Mars by himself, he obviously encounters a lot of problems that he has to solve on his own. And man, does he solve them! He is highly intelligent and manages to come out of even the toughest situations. And, as I already mentioned, he is simply hilarious while doing it. It was a pleasure reading from his point of view.

This is a book I would recommend to everyone, no matter if they are a fan of science fiction or not. There are quiet a few technical terms and scientific explanations (obviously I mean it’s about space and spaceships), but they are written in a way that’s easy to understand and it doesn’t take you out of the story. The Martian is simply amazing and everyone should definitely read it!


Have you read The Martian? What did you think of it?

Thank you very much for reading, I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Annaβ™₯

22 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: The Martian

  1. Can you believe I haven’t read this yet? And as soon as I saw they were making it a movie, I told myself I had to read it asap (before I watched the movie) but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. I had no idea that it was funny, or had humor in it… so that’s a good thing! It’s definitely a book I want to read, and I’m so glad to see you recommend it today! Thank you 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can completely understand, there are many books that I planned to read before their movie/tv adaptation came out. That didn’t happen! XD I honestly didn’t expect it to have humour either, but I was pleasantly surprised by it. I hope you will love it as much as I did, when you get to it! You’re welcome! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great pick for this week Anna. I’ve had this book on my to-read list ever since the film was released. I’ve heard amazing things about the film, and my friend who’s read the book has really loved it so despite the fact that I wouldn’t say this was my normal genre (I do love sci-fi but I’m more of a YA reader than anything else) I’m still excited to get around to it when I get a chance. I’m glad to see you enjoyed this one. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth! πŸ™‚ I haven’t actually watched the movie yet. I honestly have no idea why, I wanted to watch it in the cinema but never actually came around to it. Definitely need to do that some time in the future, as I have heard amazing things about it! I can only recommend this book, it was really good. I hope you enjoy it, if you get around to it! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. And that’s happened to me with a few films, I read the book waiting for the film to be released in the cinemas and then never got around to going. Hopefully you’ll be able to see The Martian soon, people seemed to love the film so I’m sure you will as well. And I’ll definitely get around to the book soon. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m soo glad to hear that you loved it! I’ll definitely be looking out for your review then. πŸ™‚ I wasn’t expecting it to be funny either. I thought it would be very dramatic and serious, as I only knew that he was stuck on Mars and nothing else. I really want to see the movie as well, for some reason I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read this book and I love it so much! I’ve also saw the movie and i really liked he book to movie adaptation, even if it doesn’t have some things I liked in the book. Have you seen the movie?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear that you loved this book! πŸ™‚ I haven’t seen the movie for some reason yet. I wanted to watch it in the cinema, but that didn’t happen. Hopefully I’ll be able to watch it some time soon. I’m glad that you enjoyed the movie, I’m even more exited to watch it now.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t read The Martin yet but I had the chance to watch it with some friends and one of them had read the book. He was going absolutely mad because, in his opinion, the movie didn’t match the book at all and had changed/skipped a lot of stuff. I really enjoyed it, though, but again, I had nothing to compare it to.
    You really have to admire Mark; plus, he’s so sweet and, indeed, hilarious!
    I’m glad you liked this one so much! And great review πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The book is amazing, so I can only recommend it! I haven’t seen the movie yet sooo I have no idea how it compares to the book. And I seriously have no idea how I haven’t watched it yet, as I wanted to see it in the cinema, but that never happened…Hopefully I’ll get to it soon.
      Mark is simply amazing! He is definitely one of my all time favourite characters.
      Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

