wrap up

February | Wrap Up

Another month gone by. I honestly have no idea how it’s already the end of February. I always forget that February has only 28 days. I basically forgot that I had to write a wrap up as well. (No idea how that happened, as I have been blogging for more than a year and have ever since I started been doing wrap ups.) I spent two weeks of February in my home town visiting family and friends. This month is the semester break for me, which mean I had the time to go home. I greatly enjoyed myself. With March begins a new semester for me, which means I’m going to be busy with university once more. I have 11 classes this time and we shall see how I’ll manage everything! XD

BOOKS I READ:

Same as last month, I managed to complete 3 books in total. This year I haven’t been reading as much as some of the previous years. I just haven’t really been in the mood to read. And I haven’t been forcing myself to read when I’m not in the mood either. I do hope that I’ll end up reading more in March, as I have planned on getting to some rather exiting books! Anyway, let’s get into the books I read in February!

Harry PotterHarry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling and illustrated by Jim Kay

5 out of 5 stars

I finally got my hands on this book! It arrived in January, but to my family house and I had no access to it until February. Obviously I had to read it as soon as I got my hands on it. It was wonderful getting to read this book with the beautiful illustrations by Jim Kay. They made the story even more fantastic, which I’m not going to complain about. (Though if someone hates spiders, this book definitely isn’t for them!)

By far my favourite illustrations were the ones of Diagon Alley and of the Skele-Gro potion. (Though choosing favourites is seriously hard and I just thought of a ton more that I could consider my favourites.) I’m seriously exited for the illustrated edition of The Prisoner of Azkaban to come out, after all it’s one of my favourites from the series and I can’t wait to see it illustrated!

Shirley JacksonDark Tales by Shirley Jackson

3.5 out of 5 stars

This is one of the first short story collections (if not the first) that I picked up on my own and it wasn’t required reading. I don’t know what it is, I just never gravitate towards short stories when choosing what to read. Or buy for that matter, as I don’t think I own any either.

I had heard amazing things about Shirley Jackson and her writing before starting this short story collection, but I hadn’t picked up anything by her yet. After reading this book I know that I definitely need to read more of her books, her writing style is amazing and captivating. Plus her stories are very dark and sometimes creepy, which I adore. Hopefully I will be able to get my hands on more of her books some time soon, I really want to read We Have Always Lived in the Castle so I might pick it up first.

A Song of Ice and FireA Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R. R. Martin

3 out of 5 stars

This book turned out to be a short story collection as well, which I didn’t know it would be before starting this book. The only thing that I knew about this was the fact that it’s set long before the events of the A Song of Ice and Fire series and that I could read it, even if I’m not caught up with the main series. So that’s exactly what I did. (Plus it was a Christmas gift from my best friend, so I was exited to read it.)

I both did and didn’t enjoy this book.

On one hand it was very interesting seeing Westeros from the past, one I’m not that familiar with. It was interesting to see the time when the Targaryen ruled. On the other hand I basically had no interest in most of the things that were happening during this book. That’s mostly because I didn’t care about the main character and what he was up to. All three short stories were from his perspective and while I was very interested in the first one, I got very bored when I got to the end.  I just wanted to read about one of the other characters, but sadly I didn’t get to do that. All in all, it was an all right book, nothing particularly special.

BLOG POSTS:

Reviews:

Tags:

Features:

Miscellaneous:


How was your February? Did you have a good reading month? What was your favourite book that you read? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading. I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

18 thoughts on “February | Wrap Up

  1. I actually forgot my wrap up post until yesterday so you’re definitely not alone on that. I think February is that one month that just throws everyone off 😂. It’s good to hear that you had a great semester break and wow about the 11 classes. I don’t think I could manage that many classes. Good luck with everything, Anna! I hope you have a fantastic March. 💕😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, well at least we are not on our own in forgetting about it! 😂 I have to agree. February really does stick out, doesn’t it? I’m not sure I can take the 11 classes either, but they are nicely spaced. And I do have Monday’s free. So I’m kind of positive on being able to do it! We shall see. 😀 Thank you! I hope you have a wonderful March as well. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like you had a good February Anna. I always get a little lost this month simply because it’s so short. It almost feels like February has only just begun before it’s over again and we’re in March.
    The Harry Potter series is one I need to reread soon but oh the illustrated editions are just gorgeous aren’t they? They’re definitely two of the most amazing books on my shelves at the moment. Also it’s great you’re still reading A Song of Fire and Ice series, I seem to be struggling with that at the moment, I can’t seem to get around to the fifth book but maybe one day…
    I hope you have a brilliant March Anna, good luck with your semester starting again too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My February was really great! Same here, I always feel like the time passes by way too fast and especially in February as it is even shorter than other months.
      The illustrated editions are simply beautiful! I’m sooo happy that I own both of them. I’m actually slacking on the Song of Ice and Fire series as well. I need to start reading the third book, so I decided to read this prequel story as it had only about 250 pages. Hopefully I’ll be picking up the third one soon. Also it’s not like there is a hurry to read them, who know when the next books will be out…
      Thank you! I hope you have a wonderful March as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Does mean we’re that little bit closer to Spring which will be amazing because I am so cold at the moment.
        I feel like it will still be a while before the next one is released. Guess that means I can feel less guilty about the fact that I still haven’t gotten around to the fifth book then.
        Thanks Anna! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s seriously confusing, especially when you have many things to do. Very happy that I actually remembered on time at least! 😀 Yeah, my blogging month was very successful! I have been trying to put up at least 2 blog posts a week, which (obviously) has been going great! Thank you. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great wrap up, Anna! You’ve had a lot of stuff done this month 🙂
    I have A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms sitting on my shelf, looking at me disapprovingly because I haven’t picked it up yet… Sigh. I really need to, though! It sounds amazing, which of course it would be ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sophie! 🙂 Yeah, I didn’t realise how much I did until I started writing this post.
      I know the feeling, the rest of the A Song of Ice and Fire series is starting at me as well. (Especially since I have only read the first 2 books, but own the entire series…) I hope you get around to it soon then, it’s a very interesting book for sure! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

