top ten tuesday

Books I Read In One Sitting || Top Ten Tuesday

Feature

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme

created and hosted by lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish.


It’s been a long time since I have done a top ten Tuesday post. And no, I’m not exaggerating – the last one I did was back in December, so it’s been around three months. I honestly didn’t think it’s been that long, obviously I was wrong.

This weeks theme is about the books we read in one setting. I don’t tend to read many books in one sitting (or one day in general), mostly because I don’t read that fast. Still I did manage to find a few exceptions to that – 12 of them to be exact. Yes, I’m aware that this is top ten Tuesday but I really wanted to include all of them. So that’s what I’m doing!

Anyway, let’s get into the books that I managed to read in one sitting!


  • Animal Farm by George Orwell – Aside from this book being very short and therefore manageable to get through in one sitting, the story from this book just sucked me in and I couldn’t put it down. I just had to know everything immediately.
  • A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan DoyleI adore the Sherlock Holmes stories, they are some of my all time favourites and I don’t think I mention them enough on my blog. This is the first Sherlock Holmes mystery that I read and I loved it, it was very engrossing and I couldn’t put it down.
  • The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha ChristieThis is my favourite Agatha Christie book that I have read so far. I really don’t know what about this book fascinated me this much, it just did. It’s a Hercule Poirot mystery and one that took me completely by surprise.
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman – Once again, a rather short book that’s completely manageable to read in one sitting. Plus I read this book during a read-a-thon, which explains me reading it fast even more. I adore the writing in this book, I seriously need to read more Neil Gaiman books.
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – I think that most people have read this book by now, therefore you should know how intense this book gets. I just needed to know what was going to happen next and I didn’t even think about stopping it until I get all the answers I wanted.
  • Legend by Marie LuThere is just something about Marie Lu’s writing style that makes it impossible to put down her books. Each of the books in this trilogy I read in one sitting. She is definitely an author that I need to read more from.
  • Ready Player One by Ernest ClineThis is a book that I read during a bus journey from Vienna to my home town (which takes over 7 hours so I had plenty of time to read). This book sucked me in from the first page and it definitely made my journey a lot more exiting and enjoyable than it otherwise would have been.
  • Unwind by Neal Shusterman – This book was very engrossing but also very dark. The whole concept of the world and the things that happened was fascinating and I had to know what was going to happen next. Before I realised it, I had finished the whole book. I should probably continue reading this series, as I did love this book.
  • Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley – I don’t tend to read many contemporaries, it just isn’t a genre that interests me that much. However this book I couldn’t put down. I was very interested in the mystery that was happening and I loved the main character. Definitely explains why I managed to finish it in one sitting.
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz This is one of my all time favourite books, which I have already mentioned many times on my blog. I just loved the characters, the story and the writing flowed beautifully making it impossible to put down.
  • Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick RiordanI actually read the first three books of this series in one day. They are short, fun middle-grade books that I adored. Obviously, since I read three of them in one day. Rick Riordan’s books always manage to capture my attention and I love reading his stories.
  • The Perks of Being an Wallflower by Stephen ChboskyThis book I actually read in school. And I mean in school, not for school. I read it during the last week of a school year, as we didn’t do much during that time (or rathe I personally didn’t have much to do). I related to this book sooo much, it still remains one of my all time favourites.

Which books have you managed to read in one sitting? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading, I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

30 thoughts on “Books I Read In One Sitting || Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Great picks for this week Anna. Most books I read are books I’ve read in one sitting, simply because I have a lot of time in the day to actually read given my three hour commute to work, but some of these are ones I shot through simply because they were so addicting I didn’t want to put them down until the end.
    Percy Jackson was definitely one of those books. I really want to try and get around to the Heroes of Olympus series soon (but I’ve been saying that since I finished the Percy Jackson books last June so who knows at this point). Also I really really need to read The Ocean at the End of the Lane and Ready Player One soon, both sound amazing and I’m sure they’ll be books I shoot through as well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth! Wow, it’s great that you can read so much – I imagine that it makes commuting a lot more fun that way as well. 🙂 I sometimes find it difficult to read for hours on time, I just can’t seem to concentrate. I agree, there are just some books that are impossible to put down!
      Well, the series isn’t going anywhere sooo there’s really no pressure to read it!! (Though I hope you decided to read it soon, as I really want to know your thoughts on them!) Both are amazing books and I can only recommend them! I hope you enjoy them as much as I did. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, and yeah it certainly passes the time while I commute to and from work. I’ve learnt to love it! 🙂
        I’m aiming to get around to both before the end of this year, gives me quite a bit of time to actually motivate myself to pick them up! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think “I don’t read that fast.” is an under-statement!!! 😛 I don’t think there’s any book in this list that I could read in one sitting (maybe just Animal Farm cause.. it’s pretty short and, like you said, it is brilliantly captivating!!). I am definitely one of those slow-readers among the community and always find myself envying those who can sit still for hours and finish books in such short time/in one shot! I also love that you got Conan Doyle’s and Christie’s books in here. I can’t wait to re-read Doyle’s books cause Sherlock is THE BEST (as well as Batman) and to read Christie’s book (this is such a disappointing thing coming from me when I adore mystery novels!). Loved the books you’ve picked in this!! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can totally understand you! I’m always envious of people who read fast, especially when I see that they read over 10 books each month (as a minimum), meanwhile I’m at 3 to 5 books. XD Guess each of us has their own pace. Sherlock is seriously the best, I ADORE all of his adventures!! I can only recommend Agatha Christie, she seriously writes amazing mysteries. I’m glad you enjoyed them! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve seen tons of people doing lists of books to read in one sitting today (did I miss a memo or something lol?) but nobody has mentioned the Hunger Games yet, which is really surprising as it totally deserves to be on the list! I’ve got The Perks of Being a Wallflower but have yet to read it. It’s a tiny book though, so I’d imagine getting through it to be a breeze!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, well it was the chosen topic for this weeks Top Ten Tuesday, sooo I guess that’s why! XD The Hunger Games was seriously impossible to put down. I can only recommend you The Perks of Being a Wallflower, it’s an amazing book.

      Like

  4. Love your picks, Anna! I have Unwind on my TBR too ever since I read Shusterman’s Scythe but that cover creeps the hell out of me, I hope I’ll enjoy it as much as you do.

    And Ready Player One was just so lovely! It made me so nostalgic towards my gaming days. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed them! The concept of Unwind is really creepy as well – not in a paranormal sense, more of what people are doing and what’s normal in that world. I really hope you’ll enjoy that book as much as I did! 🙂
      Ready Player One is seriously wonderful, it reminded me of my gaming days as well! (Though I do play some games from time to time now as well.) ❤

      Like

  5. Hey Anna, I remember as a teenager I had read ‘Tarzan of the Apes’ by Edgar Rice Burroughs in one sitting and had dreamt of the jungle whole night that followed 😀 And Second on my list is The fountainhead by Ayn Rand, could not put the book down once I started reading it. It is the Fountainhead that gave me the taste of wordgasm 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Hunger Games and Legend are two books that I’ve read in one sitting too because they were so good. I actually think I read all of THG books in a few days because I couldn’t put them down lol. I’ve also read and loved Ari & Dante but that one took me a little longer to read. Great picks for this, Anna!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They were seriously fantastic! Hahaha, I remember reading the first book in one day and starting Catching Fire right after…but it was late in the evening sooo I didn’t finish it until the day after. And I don’t believe that I read the third book in a day, just because I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first two. Thank you Melissa! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Glad to see you’re back into TTT Anna! I had both Animal Farm and Perks on my list too! I didn’t think about putting any of the Sherlock Holmes stories on my list because to me they’re more like short stories/novellas, but that’s such a good addition! I can’t believe you read the first three Percy Jackson books in one day – that’s impressive! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really glad to be doing it again! Hopefully future topics will interest me as well and I’ll keep doing it! 😀 Both of those books are amazing and I seriously couldn’t stop reading them, so I’m very happy that they made it on your list as well. Haha, I have no idea how I managed to read all three books in one day. Probably because I didn’t do anything else, aside from reading. XD Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. There are so many good books here that I’ve also read in one sitting haha. Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle are my favourites to go to when I want a quick read (they’re great for short journeys).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

