standalone sunday

Standalone Sunday: The Graveyard Book

Feature

Standalone Sunday is a weekly feature created by Megan @bookslayerReads that allows us to feature books, that are not part of a series, that we loved.


Neil GaimanThe Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

After the grisly murder of his entire family, a toddler wanders into a graveyard where the ghosts and other supernatural residents agree to raise him as one of their own.

Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn’t live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will come under attack from the man Jack—who has already killed Bod’s family.


This is the first ever Neil Gaiman book that I read and the one that made me fall in love with his writing and way of story telling. I read it in high-school, which means at least over 4 years ago. It doesn’t feel like it was that long ago. (Time goes by sooo fast!)

I loved this book, it was simply fantastic! The setting was unique, the characters very interesting and I found the story engrossing, I was unable to put this book down while reading it. I didn’t really know what to expect of this book, but it ended up surprising me in all the best ways possible! This is a book I would highly recommend everybody to read.


Have you read The Graveyard Book? What did you think of it?

Thank you very much for reading, I hope you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

21 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: The Graveyard Book

  1. Great pick for this week Anna. I love all the Neil Gaiman books I’ve read and I don’t actually think this is one of them so I need to get started on it ASAP. I’m glad you enjoyed it so much, and the fact that it was the first Neil Gaiman book you read and the one that made you fall in love with his storytelling is a great draw! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth! 🙂 I have also really enjoyed all of Neil Gaiman’s books that I have read so far, he just has an amazing way of storytelling. I definitely hope to read more of his books in the future. I can only recommend it, The Graveyard Book is seriously amazing! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Neil Gaiman is seriously amazing! I have loved everything that I have read from him so far, I definitely can’t wait to read more of his books in the future. 🙂 I’m sure you would enjoy it, I can only recommend it!!

      Like

  2. I’ve seen Neil Gaiman around the blogosphere so much this year which is a sign that I need to hurry and read some of his books lol. I actually have this one and Stardust on my TBR for this year. I’ve seen the movie for Stardust but not read the book (though I’ve heard it’s a pretty great adaptation of the book) and since it’s one of my favorites I know I’ll end up loving the book. Great pick for this week, Anna!! 😁♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You really need to read something by him! Neil Gaiman is seriously amazing and his writing style is magical. Stardust is great, both the book and the movie. I really hope that you will love his writing and stories as much as I do! Thank you Melissa! ❤ 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

