book review

Miss Treadway & the Field of Stars by Miranda Emmerson || ARC Review

Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher (through NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Miss TreadwayTitle: Miss Treadway & the Field of Stars

Author: Miranda Emmerson

Published: 12. January 2017.

Edition: Fourth Estate

                Kindle Edition, 297 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction | Mystery

Summary:

Soho, 1965.

In a tiny two-bed flat above a Turkish café on Neal Street lives Anna Treadway, a young dresser at the Galaxy Theatre.

When the American actress Iolanthe Green disappears after an evening’s performance at the Galaxy, the newspapers are wild with speculation about her fate. But as the news grows old and the case grows colder, it seems Anna is the only person left determined to find out the truth.

Her search for the missing actress will take her into an England she did not know existed: an England of jazz clubs and prison cells, backstreet doctors and seaside ghost towns, where her carefully calibrated existence will be upended by violence but also, perhaps, by love. For in order to uncover Iolanthe’s secrets, Anna is going to have to face up to a few of her own.

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 2.5 OUT OF 5 STARS ►

I really don’t know where to start with this review. I have very conflicted feelings about this book, I enjoyed some aspects of it but I also had problems with it (as it’s obvious by my rating of it).

When I first started reading this book I was very much enjoying it. The writing style flowed very nicely, it was very easy to read. Miss Treadway seemed like an interesting character and I wanted to know more about her. I liked the writing style and I felt that the introduction to everything (characters, setting, plot) was very well executed.

But as the story progressed I found myself more and more bored. By the end of the book I just didn’t care what was happening anymore, I just wanted to be done with it. I also didn’t particularly care about any of the characters, while they seemed interesting in the beginning they just didn’t capture my attention throughout the story. The mystery didn’t live up to what I thought it would be, I expected it to be a lot more exiting and gripping than it was. The mystery wasn’t actually the main aspect of the story, as I expected it to be, rather it served as a tool to showcase the society and the relationships of that time period.

The story follows a diverse cast of characters with their own problems and stories woven  into the main story. This book also deals with important topics like: racism, xenophobia and misogyny.

OVERALL:

This was an alright book, but nothing too special. It wasn’t the exiting mystery that I expected it to be, which was rather disappointing. I’m unsure if I would recommend this book. Definitely not if you’re looking for a mystery novel. But if you enjoy historical fiction that explores society and it’s issues then this book might be for you.


Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

Thank you for reading my review and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

2 thoughts on “Miss Treadway & the Field of Stars by Miranda Emmerson || ARC Review

Leave a Reply

