top five wednesday

Five Fantasy Books On My TBR! || Top Five Wednesday

Feature

Top Five Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @GingerReadsLainey and she has passed down the torch to Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. For more information and for future topics you can check out the goodreads group.


As you may know, fantasy is my favourite genre to read. And it’s also the one I read the most from. So you can only imagine how many fantasy books there are on my TBR. I especially have many first books in series that I want to start. (As most fantasy that I’m interested in are longer series.) In today’s top five Wednesday I’ll be mentioning the series I really want to continue reading (and one standalone). Hopefully I’ll be able to get to all of them soon, we shall see. Anyway, let’s not get into the books!


Uprooted

5. Uprooted by Naomi Novik

We shall start with the only standalone on today’s list. I have heard many amazing things about Uprooted and it seems like a book that I would greatly enjoy! This is also the only book on the list where I don’t own the physical copy of it, so this might take some time until I get to it (as I’m also on a book buying ban). I’m also really interested in Novik’s Temeraire series, as I’m obsessed with dragons – which is also a well known fact.. Though I still plan on picking up Uprooted first, as I want to finish (or catch up to) a few series before starting new ones.

A Song of Ice and Fire

4. A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow by George R. R. Martin

I don’t think I need to introduce this series, everyone has probably by now heard of the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin. The next book that I have to read is the third one in the series, as I own the separate editions – I need to read the first part Steel and Snow. These books take me AGES to read and by that I mean a few months. I have no idea why, as I do enjoy this series a lot. I really need to pick this book up soon, it’s one I’m very exited to read!

Gentlemen Bastards

3. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

The Lies of Locke Lamora is one of my all time favourite books, I absolutely adored it! So why is it on this list, if I have already read it? It’s been a long time since I first read it and I want to continue reading this series as well, but to do that I feel like I need to reread this first book (which doesn’t really bother me, as I do love it). I just know I’ll get much more out of the story, if I reread this first book. I also want to write a review for it, sooo rereading this book will help me with that as well!

Eldest

2. Eldest by Christopher Paolini

I read Eragon, the first book in this series, some time ago and ever since then I have wanted to pick up the sequel! At first I didn’t have the time to read it (university had gotten quiet busy at that point) and then I got into a reading slump. Because of that I haven’t picked this book up yet. I have gotten out of that slump recently so I’m very much hoping that I’ll be reading it soon – after all I loved Eragon.

Victoria Schwab

1. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

I have completely adored A Darker Shade of Magic, it was such a fantastic book! If you want to hear more of my thoughts on that book, you can check out my review. So why haven’t I picked this book up yet, if I loved the first one so much? Well, there was that reading slump that I mentioned, but other than that I just wasn’t ready to read it yet. (My mind is a weird place.) I plan on reading it this month and I’m beyond exited about that!


Have you read any of these books? Are they on your TBR as well? Do let me know!

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

42 thoughts on “Five Fantasy Books On My TBR! || Top Five Wednesday

    1. I’m sooo glad to hear that you loved those two books!! I’m definitely into fantasy standalones, there definitely needs to be more of them. And I do love stories that are folk-taley, sooo it’s a book I’ll most likely love! I’m beyond exited to be reading it in the future! 😀

      Like

    1. Locke Lamora and Game of Thrones are both amazing and I can only recommend them! I have heard mixed things about Uprooted as well, but it seems like a book that I would love, so I’m still exited to read it as well.

      Like

  1. Fantasy is my favourite genre as well, so if I’d taken part in this feature this week I would have had way more than five books I wanted to feature!
    I loved Uprooted Anna, so I really hope you enjoy it as well when you get around to it. Of all the standalone fantasy books I’ve read (which is not many because I don’t think there are many out there) this is the best of the best.
    And oh yes you need to get around to A Gathering of Shadows, now you’re out of your reading slump I think it would be a brilliant book for you to pick up to get back into the story and the world. I’m sure you’ll love it and I can’t wait to see your review for it as well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fantasy is seriously the best! 😀 It was seriously hard to choose just five books. I think 95% of my TBR is fantasy books, so I had many to choose from as well. I just went with the ones I that I think I’ll read first.
      I’m sooo happy to hear that you loved Uprooted, I’m seriously exited to get my hands on it and read it as well. There really aren’t many fantasy standalone books out there, I definitely need more of those! (As I don’t always have the time to read the very long fantasy series.)
      I’m sure that I’ll love A Gathering of Shadows, after all there hasn’t been a Victoria Schwab book that I haven’t loved. Plus I already love the world and characters, so there’s no reason for me not to love it! I’m beyond exited to be reading it soon! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a lot of books to get through in that case, but I’m sure there are some amazing ones on your list and honestly the ones you featured for this feature all seem like amazing books as well.
        Nope, not many standalone fantasies and of the ones I’ve read Uprooted is probably the best in my opinion. There really should be more I think.
        No me neither actually. I’m now waiting for Our Dark Duet to be released, already have it pre-ordered just need to get my hands on it! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I really want to read The Lies of Locke Lamora, but I forgot to mention it in my post… There are just so many books to read! XD And I can’t wait to read A Gathering of Shadows, I loved the first two books in the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Lies of Locke Lamora is seriously amazing and I can only recommend it! 😀 There definitely are many books to read and picking just five is seriously hard. A Darker Shade of Magic was seriously fantastic and I’m beyond exited to continue reading that series!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! The Lies of Locke Lamora and Game of Thrones are both amazing and I can only recommend them. Especially Locke Lamora, as it is one of my all time favourite fantasy books. I hope you get to it soon and enjoy it as much as I did. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great list, Anna! A lot of these are on my TBR too – namely Uprooted and The Lies of Locke Lamora. I’ve heard so many incredible things about both and it’s good to know The Lies of Locke Lamora is one of your all-time favorites. I may have to try to sneak that onto my list for this year since everyone has loved it, it’s making me more curious lol. Eldest is one that I have read and I loved it so much! Eragon is still one of my all-time favorites and the second book really builds onto the world, it’s amazing. Also, I’m nearly finished with AGOS and you’re going to love that once you get around to it. I can’t wait to see your thoughts!! 😁💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Melissa! 🙂 I have heard many amazing things about Uprooted as well, I’m definitely looking forward to reading it and experiencing the story for myself. I just adored The Lies of Locke Lamora, especially since I love fantasy books about thieves and morally grey characters – and this book has it both! I really hope that you will love it as much as I did! 😀 Eragon is definitely one of my favourite books as well and I’m beyond exited to read Eldest, especially now that you said that it builds onto the world. I hope to start it this month! YESS, so glad to hear about AGOS – it makes me even more exited read it! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked the list!! 😀 Uprooted sounds like an amazing book, I can’t wait to get to it! I can only recommend both Lies of Locke Lamora and Eragon, they are both some of my favourite fantasy books (though they are a bit slow, I thought I should mention that). I’m sure I’ll enjoy the res of the Shades of Magic series, as I LOVED the first one! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I have heard so many great things about Uprooted, I really hope you’ll love it! I can’t wait to read it either.
    And YES READ AGOS as soon as you can – this series is such a rollercoaster, it’s crazy, but I love it. And I’m not even a big fantasy reader, so there’s that hahaha 🙂 Hope you’ll enjoy it, Anna! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yess! There are sooo many people who loved Uprooted and it makes me very exited to be reading it in the future! I hope you’ll love it as well. 😀
      I definitely NEED to pick AGOS as soon as possible!! I’m sure that I will love it, plus I adore reading fantasy sooo I have no idea why i haven’t picked it up yet. Thank you Marie! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The only books I’ve read on this list is A Gathering of Shadows and Uprooted, and both were amazing! I loved them. I do want to read GRRM’s books, and The Lies of Locke Lamora, but you’ll probably get to them before me so let me know what you think of them when you read them!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed both of them! I’m very much looking forward to reading them some time in the future. 😀 I’ll definitely let you know what I think of them, once I get around to reading them. Hope you enjoy them as well, when you read them!

      Like

  6. This is a great TBR, Anna! I completely understand the need to re-read books in order to continue the series. In fact, I often wait until a series is completely written before reading any of the books to prevent having to do that! As such, I haven’t read Locke Lamora yet. O_o But, someday. 🙂 I really enjoyed the Shades of Magic series, as well as Eragon. I hope you enjoy them both when you reach them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jackie! 🙂 Yes, sometimes you just need to reread a book before continuing the series, as otherwise you wouldn’t get the full story. Waiting until all the books are out is a great idea! But I can’t control myself and NEED to buy all the books before then. XD I can only recommend Locke Lamora, as I loved the book! Hope you enjoy it as well, when you decide to pick it up. Thank you, I’m sure that I will enjoy them a lot! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I completely understand the NEED for series books! In particular when my favorite authors are coming out with something new. Thankfully my TBR is so overwhelming I can let it pass in most cases. Not all, but most. The worst is when I accidentally request a book on NetGalley which is part of a series. O_o That’s happened more than once!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Anna,
    this list is amazing! Surprisingly, Uprooted has not been on my list yet (which I will surely add right now!), since I read the Temeraire series and absolutely loved it (so you should give it a go for sure!). Game of Thrones is quite chunky and took me quite a while to finish (at least to the point Martin got to publish so far ^^). I think it’s especially the density of different characters and places (and how regular people just die and you have to overcome the grief…). The inheritance cycle is one of my favourites (and as I am really new to book blogging I used that for my first post). Have you looked at the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas or the night angel trilogy by Brent Weeks? Sound like something you’d might like as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! I’m glad that you enjoyed my list. I haven’t read the Temeraire series yet, but I really want to (dragons are my favourite, after all). But I can’t be starting a new series at the moment, as I want to finish some of the ones I have already begun, sooo I will first be reading Uprooted. Yeah, Game of Thrones is quiet chunky and it does take me a while to read, but I always end up enjoying the books. 🙂 Eragon was simply amazing, I adored that book and I can’t wait to continue reading that series – I have heard that it gets even better. I have read The Night Angel Trilogy and it was amazing, I love books about assassin’s. And I have also read the first Throne of Glass book. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I loved Eragon too! If you like the above books, you might enjoy the works of Douglas Adams. He combines Fantasy with Science Fiction. His novels are from the 1990’s, but they’re still a good read. My favorite by far is his novel, The Ultimate Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

