standalone sunday

Standalone Sunday: The Night Circus

Feature

Standalone Sunday is a weekly feature created by Megan @bookslayerReads that allows us to feature books, that are not part of a series, that we loved.


The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night CircusThe circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love – a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.


First of all I would like to start by saying that The Night Circus is one of my all time favourite books. If I had to pick one favourite book of all time (which seems to be a popular question) I would definitely pick this one. Yes, I just love it that much!

I just adore everything about this book – the writing, the characters, the story, the magic, everything is simply stunning. The atmosphere in this book is magical and captivating. Plus I love stories that are set in a circus! I definitely need to read more stories with that setting, as I definitely haven’t read enough of them. Even though I read this book over 3 years ago, the story and characters stayed with me all this time. (Which doesn’t happen that often!)

I plan on rereading this book some time this year and I’ll definitely be writing a full review for it, so if you’re interested in more in-depht thoughts on this book you can look forward to that! (Even though I’m not really sure when the reread is going to happen.)


Have you read The Night Circus? What did you think of it?

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

23 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: The Night Circus

  1. Great pick for this weeks Standalone Sunday Anna. The Night Circus is one of my all-time favourite books and if I had to pick only one it would probably be this one as well! 😀
    I re-read this book last month and loved it just as much as the very first time I picked it up. Every time I re-read this one it’s like starting the story again for the first time; there’s so much magic and adventure and I fall in love with the circus itself all over again.
    I really hope you enjoy this book when you get around to re-reading it. I’d love to see your review for it as well! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth! ❤ Yes, The Night Circus is simply that amazing and I know quiet a few people who consider it their all time favourite book – that makes me very happy! 😀
      It's great that you loved it as much as you did the first time you read it! Not enjoying a book as much is always something that makes me nervous when I want to reread a favourite book. (Not that that is the case with this book.) I actually only read this book once, or rather twice but I decided to reread it as soon as I was done with it the first time around. Sooo I'm not really counting it as a reread! 😄
      I'm sure that I'll love it! And I will definitely be reviewing it as well, once I read it. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right! 😀 ❤
        It's always nice seeing when people love this book just as much as I did. It's an amazing story so it would be great if more people did read and love it.
        Yeah re-reading this book is always going to be just as enjoyable for me as the first time I read it. I know what you mean because there are books I feel that way about but TNC is never going to be one of them!
        Great, in that case I can't wait to see your review! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read this one, yet, but I plan on getting to it this month after having read Beth’s review. It sounds like exactly the kind of book I’ll love with the beautiful writing and all of the magic. I’m so hoping I finish ACOL in time to read it before ACOWAR releases. I just need more time to read and to be a faster reader lol. Great pick for this week, Anna!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The writing is simply beautiful and the magic amazing. I really hope that you will love it as much as I did! ❤ Well, I think that being a faster reading and needing more time applies to all of us, as our TBRs are endless! Thank you Melissa. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh this book has been on my TBR for aaaages and I still haven’t had the chance to read it! I’m so glad to hear that this is one of your all-time favourites and I’m super, super keen to read it eventually. I hope I’ll find the story, the writing and the characters as stunning as you seem to do. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YES! This is ALSO one of my all-time favorite books! Oh, it makes me soooo happy to see this here. The Night Circus was actually the book which propelled me into book groups and eventually blogging. It’s just wonderful. I also should re-read this. I haven’t re-read anything in so long.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

