standalone sunday

Standalone Sunday: The Book Thief

Feature

Standalone Sunday is a weekly feature created by Megan @bookslayerReads that allows us to feature books, that are not part of a series, that we loved.


Today is actually Easter and it’s the first time that I’m spending it away from my family, which is a really weird feeling. We aren’t that religious, but usually on this day we have a big family diner and just spend time together, so it’s kind of weird to be on my own today. My parents did visit me yesterday and we spent all day together. We explored Vienna a bit, as it was the first time my mom was here and we just enjoyed each others company. It was simply a wonderful day and I had an amazing time!

Okay, I just felt like sharing that for some reason. Now let us talk about the actual book that I want to feature in this Standalone Sunday!


The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

HERE IS A SMALL FACT:
YOU ARE GOING TO DIE.1939.

Markus ZusakNazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death hs never been busier.

Liesel, a nine-year-old girl, is living with her foster family on Himmel Street. Her parents have been taken away to a concentration camp. Liesel steals books. This is her story and the story of the inhabitants of her street when the bombs begin to fall.

SOME MORE IMPORTANT INFORMATION:
THIS NOVEL IS NARRATED BY DEATH.

It’s a small story, about:
a girl
an accordionist
some fanatical Germans
a Jewish fist fighter
and quite a lot of thievery.

ANOTHER THING YOU SHOULD KNOW:
DEATH WILL VISIT THE BOOK THIEF THREE TIMES.


The Book Thief is one of my favourite books and the one that made me cry the most. I actually remember having to stop reading it, because I couldn’t see through all the tears. And that NEVER actually happens. (It only happened with one other book in my whole life.) Usually when I cry I can still read, but this time I just couldn’t. This book destroyed me emotionally, in the best way possible. (If you can even say it like that!)

I just love everything about this book. From the writing style, to the setting to the characters – everything was simply wonderful. And tragic and sad and heartbreaking. (I think you get it by now…) I would highly recommend everyone to read this book! Literary EVERYONE! And then come and talk with me. This is the only books that I have wanted to reread for years, but not actually done so since I’m not emotionally ready to do it yet. (Sorry for my English in that sentence, I have nooo idea how to word it properly!) Hopefully I’ll be some time in the future, we shall see!


Have you read The Book Thief? What did you think of it?

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

22 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: The Book Thief

  1. Great pick for this week’s Standalone Sunday Anna. 🙂 The Book Thief was the first historical fiction book I read and as such it’s a special one for me. It made me cry and, like with you, it’s rare books do that to me but I was just so moved by this one. The fact that it was narrated by Death as well I thought gave us a deeper insight into the horrors of the Second World War.
    I hope you manage to get around to a re-read of this one soon. The Book Thief is a book I need to re-read at some point as well, hopefully soon like you! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth! 😀 I can’t believe that I haven’t featured this book until now. I think that The Book Thief was also one of the first historical fiction books that I ever read. The first was probably The Girl With the Pearl Earring, which my best friend recommended to me. Yesss, the fact that the whole book was narrated made it that much more interesting! It was a great perspective to read from and, as you said, it gave as a deeper insight in the happenings of that time.
      I really hope to reread it soon, but we shall see when I’ll be emotionally ready to read it! 😄 I hope you get to reread it soon as well!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. I’ve never read The Girl with the Pearl Earring but if I’m honest it doesn’t really interest me as much as The Book Thief did when I first discovered it. It’s got a unique way of telling the story and a lot of the chapters Death narrates that don’t have Liesl in nearly brought me to tears.
        Yeah I know that feeling, this a book you need to be in the right mood for. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I basically read The Girl with the Pearl Earring because my friend recommended it and it’s a painting (and I’m obsessed with History of Art). I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would! 😀 The whole book, even when the main characters weren’t present, was really heartbreaking.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. This book is BEAUTIFUL! Every single part of it! I love all the characters and the story and the writing is so poetic. And omg the ending 😦 I sobbed for a solid three days after finishing it. It’s so heartbreaking (especially Liesel and Rudy). Great GREAT choice for Standalone Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have had this book on my TBR for AAAAAGES and I still haven’t read it yet! I keep hearing that it’s this super sad book that made everyone cry and that really, really intimidated me. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it, though, and I’m waiting for that moment where I feel ready for my heart to be broken…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You really NEED to read it! Though I completely understand needing to wait until you’re emotionally ready. There are quiet a few books on my TBR that are like that for me. I really hope that you will enjoy it, once you get around to reading it!

      Like

  4. Happy Easter, Anna! Hope you’re not feeling too lonely. I read this book years and years ago, but I don’t really remember too much about it except that it made me cry. My best friend is reading it at the moment and is absolutely loving it. You’re both making me want to re-read it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Happy (belated) Easter to you as well! It wasn’t that lonely, I had a skype chat with my best friend which was amazing. I’m really glad that your best friend is loving it! Well then you definitely should reread it, after all it’s a wonderful story. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I keep seeing this book all over the blogosphere this year and given that it’s been sitting on my TBR for a long time I’m really starting to think I need to read it soon. Everyone talks about how incredible and heartbreaking it is. Might have to save it for when I’m in the mood for a heartbreaking book. Either way, it’s definitely another one I’m going to try to get to this year. Great pick, Anna!! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Too bad that you didn’t completely love it. Yeah, everyone seems to love this book. But I do know people who have disliked it as well, so there’s that. Well, I hope that you will completely fall in love with it when you reread it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

