standalone sunday

Standalone Sunday: The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Feature

Standalone Sunday is a weekly feature created by Megan @bookslayerReads that allows us to feature books, that are not part of a series, that we loved.


The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman

Sussex, England. A middle-aged man returns to his childhood home to attend a funeral. Although the house he lived in is long gone, he is drawn to the farm at the end of the road, where, when he was seven, he encountered a most remarkable girl, Lettie Hempstock, and her mother and grandmother. He hasn’t thought of Lettie in decades, and yet as he sits by the pond (a pond that she’d claimed was an ocean) behind the ramshackle old farmhouse, the unremembered past comes flooding back. And it is a past too strange, too frightening, too dangerous to have happened to anyone, let alone a small boy.

Forty years earlier, a man committed suicide in a stolen car at this farm at the end of the road. Like a fuse on a firework, his death lit a touchpaper and resonated in unimaginable ways. The darkness was unleashed, something scary and thoroughly incomprehensible to a little boy. And Lettie—magical, comforting, wise beyond her years—promised to protect him, no matter what.

A groundbreaking work from a master, The Ocean at the End of the Lane is told with a rare understanding of all that makes us human, and shows the power of stories to reveal and shelter us from the darkness inside and out. It is a stirring, terrifying, and elegiac fable as delicate as a butterfly’s wing and as menacing as a knife in the dark.


This is one of the rare books that I managed to read in one sitting. Once I started it, I just couldn’t put it down. Neil Gaiman has a way of writing that just pulls you in. And he creates magical and fascinating stories, so far I haven’t disliked a single book that I have read by him. I definitely need to pick up more of his works in the future!

The Ocean at the End of the Lane is a rather short book, but magical non the less. It was also a lot creepier than I thought it would be (but not too scary at the same time?), which is always a plus for me. I just loved the descriptions of everything within this book. And, as I already mentioned, the story simply sucked me in! I would highly recommend this book to everyone.


Have you read The Ocean at the End of the Lane? What did you think of it?

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

24 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: The Ocean at the End of the Lane

  1. Hi, there! Nice post. 😀 This one’s been on my TBR list, so it’s nice to read that it’s a good one. Now I want to read it even more. 😛 I haven’t ventured far into Gaiman’s works yet, but I definitely want to read more for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is the book which really hooked me onto Neil Gaiman, actually. I listened to the audiobook, as narrated by the author himself! Listening to Gaiman read his own works, I realized that I had always been interpreting his words differently than he intended. Going forward, his works made so much more sense to me. Now I always try to listen to audiobooks when authors read their own works! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is a fantastic book and I’m glad that it got you hooked onto Neil Gaiman’s books! 😀 Listening to audiobooks that are narrated by the author seem like an amazing idea. The only problem I find with that is that audiobooks tend to be more expensive, sooo I can’t afford to buy them at the moment. But hopefully in the future I will be able to do that! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

        1. It’s amazing that your library has a good collection of them! Sadly, I live in a German speaking country sooo most of the audio books that I can find here are in German. And all the books I’m interested in are in English…sooo that doesn’t really work out! 😄

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Great review Anna! 🙂
    Like I already said in one of my other comments on another of your posts I currently have this book on hold at the library and I am PUMPED to get to it now! I loved Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book and I’ve been meaning to read more of his books (actually I forgot I read Coraline, that’s embarassing…)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Heather! 🙂
      I really hope that you enjoy it. The Ocean at the End of the Lane was seriously amazing! Hahaha, I usually forget that I read Coraline as well, probably because I saw the movie first – so in my mind it’s a movie, not a book. 😄 I can’t wait to read more of his books as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

