top five wednesday

Authors I Want to Read More From || Top Five Wednesday

Feature

Top Five Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @GingerReadsLainey and she has passed down the torch to Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. For more information and for future topics you can check out the goodreads group.


This week the topic is the authors we want to read more from. And let’s be real, there are definitely more than five authors that I want to read more books from.

In this post I will be mentioning authors that have books out that I haven’t read yet but really want to. Not authors whose upcoming releases I’m looking forward to or authors I wish would write more books. (That could be a whole other topic.) And I won’t be mentioning Victoria Schwab, I do want to read all her books but I always mention her so I don’t want to be too repetitive.

Let’s get into my list!


5. Haruki Murakami

Haruki Murakami is an author that I first read in high school. During that time period I was very interested in Japanese literature and wanted to read a book set in Japan. And seeing that Haruki Murakami’s name kept popping up I decided to read his books. I wasn’t disappointed. I really enjoy his writing style and way of story telling, I can’t wait to read more of his books.

4. Neil Gaiman

All of Neil Gaiman’s books that I have read so far I have greatly enjoyed. His writing style is simply magical and he creates fantastic worlds that I can’t stop reading about. My two favourites so far would have to be The Graveyard Book and The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I’m very exited to continue reading his works and hopefully I’ll be picking up something by him rather soon.

3. Cassandra Clare

I have already read The Infernal Devices (and LOVED them) and the first two books of The Mortal Instruments and I really NEED to continue reading that series. Honestly I want to read all the books set in the Shadowhunters universe, they all very much intrigue me. I just like the character that she creates and I find the whole Shadowhunter world to be fascinating, so I obviously want to read more about it.

2. Patrick Ness

Patrick Ness is one of my all time favourite authors. So far I have read The Chaos Walking trilogy and A Monster Calls by him and I simply ADORED all of those books. I really want to read all of his books. Hopefully I will be able to get to them some time soon. I do already own More Than This, so I could read it soon.

1. Rick Riordan

I have already read many books by Rick Riordan. I have read Percy Jackson and the Olympians, The Heroes of Olympus and The Kane Chronicles. But I just can’t get enough of his stories and I NEED to read more! I’m very interested in getting my hands on all of these books, but I think I will wait until more books from the series have been published – as I love binge reading his books, I feel as if I get the most out of them that way.


Who are some authors that you want to read more from?

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

32 thoughts on “Authors I Want to Read More From || Top Five Wednesday

  1. Oh you must read more Riordan :D! And I would recommend to read Neverwhere, it’s an amazing world-building. I was honestly a little dissappinted in American Gods, but that was just me (Despite reading 5 of his books, I’m not a huge fan) but I think you’ll enjoy it 😊!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely must! 😀 I’m just waiting for him to release more books in both series (Trials of Apollo and Magnus Chase), as I love marathoning his books. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed Nevermore, I have heard amazing things about it and I can’t wait to read it! I have heard that you either love or hate American Gods, soo we shall see what I will think of it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I would LOVE to read more Neil Gaiman as well! I read and ADORED The Graveyard Book too, such a cute and amazing story and I actually have The Ocean at the End of the Lane on hold at the library right now! I’m really excited to hear you loved it! I think my next read by him will have to be Norse Mythology because come on, Neil Gaiman retelling Norse mythology just sounds awesome.
    I need to read more Rick Riordan too I have read the entire Percy Jackson series, the first Magnus Chase and Kane Chronicles books. I really need to finish the Heroes of Olympus series in the worst way!
    Great list Anna! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Graveyard Book was simply AMAZING! It’s the first one I read by him and the one that made me fall in love with his writing. I really hope that you enjoy it as much as I did! 😀 I literary bought myself Norse Mythology yesterday and I can’t wait to read it. And yes, Neil Gaiman and Norse mythology together just sounds perfect!!
      Rick Riordan’s books are amazing and fun, I just love reading them. Sooo I’m very much hoping to get my hands on more of them soon.
      Thank you Heather! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really want to read more of Gaiman’s work too! So far I’ve only read Stardust, but I found it enchanting. 🙂 That’s excellent to hear that you enjoyed The Graveyard Book so much. I have it on my kindle, but just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.
    Have you seen the tv commercials for the show American Gods yet? I really want to see it (and read it). lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have read Stardust as well and I enjoyed it as well, it was a magical adventure! 🙂 I really hope that you will enjoy The Graveyard Book when you get around to it. I think I’m going to read Norse Mythology by him next, as I literary just got it yesterday.
      I haven’t watched them yet, though I have seen some pictures of the characters. I really want to read the book first before watching the show. It’s not really a priority for me, as I have no idea what American Gods is actually about! XD Are you going to read the book first or watch the show?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nice! Yeah, I’m not sure if I’ll wind up reading or watching American Gods first. I usually like to read the books for things first, but I might not be able to resist in this case because the show looks really good. lol
        Happy reading to you with Norse Mythology. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Cassandra Clare and Rick Riordan would be two authors on my list as well. So far I’ve only read their first series (first half of Cassandra Clare’s TMI books and the first five Rick Riordan ones) but I’ve heard beyond amazing things about their other books I’ve yet to get around to so hopefully soon I’ll be caught up on everything! 😀
    I hope you love Patrick Ness’s books you still need to read as well Anna. He’s one of my favourite authors and I honestly don’t think he’s released a book I haven’t loved! Great post. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have read The Infernal Devices (I ADORED them) and the first two books of TMI and I just can’t wait to continue that series. I just need to get my hands on the third book, which I can never find when I go to the bookstore. XD Hopefully that will happen soon! The Heroes of Olympus is an amazing series and I can’t wait for you to read them, as I want to know what you will think of them. I have heard nothing but amazing things about all their other books as well. 😀
      I think I will be reading More Than This next, as I already own the book. I’m very intrigued, as I don’t actually know anything about the book. I’m sure that I will enjoy it, after all I have loved all of his other books so far. 🙂 Thank you!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’ve got a little further with the series than I have, but TID are next on my to-read list so hopefully very soon I’ll be able to actually read them! 😀
        I’m going to try and get around to the Heroes of Olympus series this Summer, maybe I can get through one Rick Riordan series a year, spread them out so he has a chance to release more books.
        Oh that’s great to hear, and I really hope you enjoy that book. I didn’t have any expectations of More Than This and it ended up becoming a favourite book of mine.
        That’s all right! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a great list! I ADORE Neil Gaiman. American Gods is also one of my favorites of his, as well as his co-authored book, Good Omens, with Terry Pratchett. Brilliant stuff. I wish Rick Riordan would write faster. He’s doing such a great job releasing a book a year, but with my compulsive need to only read a series once all the books are out, I keep finding I have to wait. Shame.

    Hm. Who would I like to see more from? Erin Morgenstern for sure! Also, I’d love to resurrect Jane Austen and see what sorts of books she’d write today. Amazing stuff, I’m sure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked my list! 😀 I’m glad to hear that you loved American Gods, it makes me even more exited to get to it. I also really need to read Good Omens, as I enjoy the work of both authors – soo a book written by them together should be amazing. 😀
      As far as I know Rick Riordan releases two books per year (currently: one for Trials of Apollo in May and then one for Magnus Chase later in the year) – if I’m not mistaken. Though it is a shame that we have to wait that long, I might pick up more of his books soon – as I think two books are enough for me to marathon (or I just want to own them)! XD
      The first two authors that come to mind are Erin Morgenstern and Markus Zusak. I would LOVE for them to write more books. And yesss to Jane Austen being resurrected and writing more books – they would be amazing, without a doubt! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Haruki Murakami! His novels and short stories never fail to impress! His surreal and beautifully illusory writing style is so vivid that I feel completely transported into a world where elephants are pink and cats talk! 🙂
    If you’re still into Japanese Literature, then I would also recommend A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haruki Murakami is seriously amazing! I haven’t read any of his short stories yet, but I can only imagine that they are as amazing as his novels! 😀
      I have heard great things about A Tale for the Time Being and I definitely need to check it out. Thank you for the recommendation! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

