top five wednesday

It’s my BIRTHDAY! & Favourite Fantasy Cover Art || Top Five Wednesday

Feature

Top Five Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @GingerReadsLainey and she has passed down the torch to Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. For more information and for future topics you can check out the goodreads group.


Yes, you have read correctly IT’S MY BIRTHDAY TODAY!

GIF

I’m officially 22 now.Β I just though I would mention it, as I’m already writing a post today. (Plus I wanted to use that gif, so there’s that as well!) So what am I going to do on my birthday? Mostly spend my time in classes, though I’m going to a museum later in the day – it’s still part of a class, so I’m not sure if it counts as a fun visit or not. No exiting plans really, but I shall enjoy this day as much as I can! πŸ˜€


Anyway, onto the actual post of today! I decided to do another Top Five Wednesday post. Today’s topic is our favourite fantasy and science fiction cover arts. There are a ton fantasy covers out there that I love, so picking only five was really hard! I actually don’t have that many favourite science fiction covers, the only two that come to mind are The Martian and The long way to a small angry planet, the other ones that I’m aware of aren’t that impressive. That’s why I decided to go with my favourite fantasy covers!

Anyway, lets get into my list!


Uprooted

5. Uprooted by Naomi Novik

I just love the whole design of this cover. The colours are simply beautiful and fit together so nicely. The art is gorgeous as well. I just adore this cover! I really want to get this book in this particular edition, so hopefully I will be finding it soon. (As I really want/need to read this book!)

4. The covers for The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

I adore black covers of books. I don’t know what it is, they just tend to look the best to me. These covers for The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit are rather simple but also very beautiful. I love how each illustration on the cover represents the specific book. Plus I love how most of the illustration is gold with a little ring of colour.

Sebastien de Castell

3. Spellslinger by Sebastien de Castell

This is a book that I recently discovered and I immediately fell in love with the cover! (The summary sounds amazing as well.) I love that it looks like a playing card. The colours are amazing, I love the red and how the characters are illustrated with black and white and a little red detail. This cover looks even prettier in person, as I had the pleasure of seeing it in the bookstore a few days ago!

2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Yes, I’m including three covers for this book. I simply love all of them. As I have mentioned earlier, I love black books. And all three of these designs are simply gorgeous! I don’t think there is much more I can say about that. Which out of these three is your favourite cover for The Night Circus?Β I think mine is the third one, simply because I love theΒ silhouettesΒ of Marco and Celia.

1. The Grisha TrilogyΒ by Leigh Bardugo

I just love the whole design of these three books. I love the font, the illustrations and the colours. Everything about these covers is gorgeous and they are definitely my favourites (obviously, as I put them in the first place). Also the Six of Crows duology has amazing covers, but I think I prefer these more sooo I decided to pick them!


What are some of your favourite fantasy covers?

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Annaβ™₯

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

63 thoughts on “It’s my BIRTHDAY! & Favourite Fantasy Cover Art || Top Five Wednesday

  1. Happy birthday! This is the first time I stumbled upon your blog, but I wish you all the best nonetheless πŸ˜„ Great picks! I quite forgot to include Uprooted in my list (which will go up later today!) – it totally should have been there. I actually like both the UK and the US cover of this book, although this one wins by a narrow margin. As for your other picks, I second Spellslinger and The Night Circus.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you sooo much!! πŸ˜€ ❀
      Uprooted definitely has one of the most beautiful covers that I have ever seen. It's simply gorgeous! I agree, both the US and UK covers are beautiful. I love how the US cover reminds me of fairy tales, but the UK one won by little – so I decided to pick it instead. I'm glad that you enjoyed my other choices as well.

      Like

  2. Happy birthday!! I love all of these covers and yes all of the covers for the night circus are amazing. I put the Dutch one on my list πŸ˜‰ A little different but one of my absolute favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh happy birthday Anna. I hope you’ve had an amazing day so far, and got loads of amazing books as presents as well! πŸ˜€
    These are some gorgeous covers as well. The one you featured for Uprooted is actually my favourite cover design for that book, unfortunately it’s not the one I own myself but I’m happy with the edition I do have so I don’t feel the need to search out another version of a book I already own.
    Not like I do with The Night Circus! πŸ˜€ I like all the covers but the one on the furthest right you featured is my favourite, simply because it’s the one I currently own. I’d love to get my hands on a hardcover edition in the original cover though. Maybe one day.
    Great picks for this week, and happy birthday again! πŸ˜€ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you sooo much Beth! ❀ I had an amazing day and yes, I did get a lot of bookish gifts. I'm thinking of making a post featuring everything that I got. πŸ™‚
      That cover of Uprooted is simply gorgeous, but also very hard to find. Every time that I try to look for it, I can't find it anywhere. Uprooted has many beautiful covers, I would be fine with getting any of them. I'm the same actually, I don't feel the need to get multiple editions of books that I already own. (Not counting Harry Potter for that one – mostly because I have the full series in Serbian and in English.)
      I own the original hardcover of The Night Circus and it's probably my favourite cover. The book underneath the dust-jacket is also gorgeous. Well, I do hope that you get that edition in the future, it's beautiful after all! πŸ˜‰
      Thank you! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh that’s great to hear, and yay for bookish gifts as well. In my opinion they’re always better than other gifts aren’t they? πŸ™‚ I’d love to see a post of all the presents you got.
        Oh I can imagine, that was the first cover I saw for Uprooted so it was likely discontinued when they changed covers. I hope you manage to find it soon from somewhere.
        That’s only made me more and more determined to actually find it! One day, and hopefully one day soon, I will. πŸ™‚
        That’s all right! πŸ˜€ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. They definitely are, I always get beyond exited when I receive bookish gifts! πŸ˜€ I’m hoping to write that post next week, I just need to take some pictures of all the gifts. Sooo, you will be able to see them soon! πŸ˜‰

          Like

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAY ANNA!!! I hope that your birthday is absolutely amazing and filled with joy. πŸ™‚

    I completed agree about those The Night Circus covers! They are gorgeous. I also love the Six of Crows/Crookd Kingdom ones– but I think they are more beautiful as a full book. For example, the Six of Crows hardcover has red edging on the pages. Gorgeous!

    This is a great list. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU!! ❀ It was definitely amazing. πŸ˜€
      The Night Circus is such a beautiful book, inside and out. I love the Six of Crows books and I loved the coloured edges! I own both books in hardcover and they are just gorgeous. I prefer the whole design of them, but there is just something about The Grisha trilogy covers that I prefer.
      Thank you, I'm glad that you enjoyed my list. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy Birthday! πŸ™‚ I hope you had a good one! I love those covers of Lord of the Rings. My brother has those covers and they are just so gorgeous! I also really like the covers of the Grisha trilogy (even if I’ve only read the first book! ha!) πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚ I had an amazing day. I own The Lord of the Rings in those covers as well and they are really amazing. Leigh Bardugo’s books have great covers! I hope you get to continue reading that series then! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy late birthday, Anna!! I hope you ended up having a wonderful day! And I adore so many of these covers too. Especially that one for Uprooted! It’s so gorgeous. I’ve still yet to read that book but I want to really badly. And I’m going to have to look up the synopsis for Spellslinger because the cover has me intrigued. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Melissa! ❀ I did end up having a great day. Uprooted is seriously gorgeous. I haven't read it yet either, but really want to as well – I really need to get my hands on that book soon! I find the synopsis of Spellslinger to sound interesting, sooo I hope that you will as well. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  7. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY ANNA! ( I was trying to insert a Taylor Swift gif “I don’t know about you but I’m feeling 22!” and it just didn’t work but I tried!)
    I absolutely love all of the Night Circus covers and the Uprooted one as well! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

