standalone sunday

Standalone Sunday: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Feature

Standalone Sunday is a weekly feature created by Megan @bookslayerReads that allows us to feature books, that are not part of a series, that we loved.


The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower“I walk around the school hallways and look at the people. I look at the teachers and wonder why they’re here. Not in a mean way. In a curious way. It’s like looking at all the students and wondering who’s had their heart broken that day…or wondering who did the heart breaking and wondering why.”

Charlie is a freshman. And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But Charlie can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor


Lets start this post with saying that The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of my all time favourite books. I vividly remember reading it for the first time, it’s just one of those books that sticks with you. So when did I read it for the first time? In my 3rd of high school. (there are 4 years of high school in the country that I’m from – just some random information) Near the end of the year I decided to bring this book with me to school. I literary managed to finish it in during school as well, I could not put this book down.

And ever since I first read this book I have only reread it once. (Though I definitely plan on changing that soon.) I related to Charlie sooo much and I could understand his struggles. The other characters were amazing as well. Just thinking about this book makes me emotional, as I already said it’s one of my favourites. I think I simply read this book at the perfect time for me to fully appreciate it. I’m very curious to see what I will think of it once I decide to reread it.


Have you read The Perks of Being a Wallflower? What did you think of it?

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

15 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

  1. I related to this book so much. My group of friends in school were all the accepting outcasts who had an unhealthy obsession with The Rocky Horror Picture Show!! And you’re very right – it’s one of those books that just sticks with you! I hope to reread it soon as well

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are four years of high school here too 🙂 I read this book last year and was moved by Charlie’s experiences. I can imagine what it is like to be a wallflower especially since that is what I was like in high school and primary. This is quite an emotional but beautiful book. I get why its one of yor favorites 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was the same actually! I was a wallflower with few friends, but they were all amazing. 🙂 And I have to agree, this was such an emotional and beautiful book. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it as well. 😀

      Like

  3. Great pick for this week Anna. I haven’t read this book myself, and at the moment don’t even have it on my to-read list, but I did think the trailer for the film looked interesting and I’ve heard plenty of amazing things about this one (most recently being your post right here :D) so maybe one day I’ll actually get around to it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth! 😀 I would definitely recommend checking it out, it’s a beautiful and emotional book. And as I said, it’s one of my favourites, sooo I see no reason not to recommend it! Plus it’s fairly short, so you would be able to get through it quickly. 😉 The movie is amazing as well and I would recommend you watch it – if you are not in the mood to read the book!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I can only recommend you to read this book! It’s simply beautiful and emotional. Plus it’s not that long, so you could get through it pretty quickly. 😉 And the movie is amazing as well, one of my favourite adaptations. Thank you!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m terribly ashamed to admit that I’ve seen the movie for this one but still haven’t read the book. I remember wanting to read it so badly but none of my local libraries had it and I couldn’t buy the book. After awhile it kind of just slipped my mind. I definitely still want to read it though. Hopefully one of these days. Great pick, Anna!! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, both the book and movie adaptations are amazing! Though I would definitely recommend you to read the book as well. 😀 I definitely need to re-watch the movie as well, it’s been ages since I last saw it. Also, it’s the worst when your libraries don’t have the books that you really want to read. Thank you Melissa! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

