tag

The Dim Sum Book Tag

Food

I was tagged by two amazing bloggers to do this tag! They were Reg @She Latitude and Fadwa @Word Wonders. Thank you both sooo much once more! ❤ 🙂 Be sure to check out their blogs!

This tag was originally created by Joey @Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @Reading With Jenna. Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is served in small (tapas-like) portions and is common during yum cha (which literally means: drinking tea). This tag is inspired by good company and good eats.

Here are some rules to devour this tag

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
  • Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions.
  • Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun.
  • Food coma.

Tea: A book that started off hot but quickly turned cold.

I was really enjoying Truthwitch by Susan Dennard in the beginning. I was intrigued by the characters and I wanted to know more about the magic and the world of this book. Sadly this book really lacked world-building, which is one of my personal favourite elements when it comes to fantasy books. And I didn’t particularly come to like the characters either. This was a rather disappointing book for me.

Truthwitch


Chiu Chow Dumpling: A book that features elements of land and sea.

Well, the first thing that popped into my mind was mermaid books, but seeing how I haven’t read any (or don’t remember reading any) that wouldn’t work out. Then I was  seriously struggling to come up with an answer UNTIL I saw Six of Crows on my shelf and remembered that part of it takes place on a boat and the other on land. Well, I found the perfect answer for this question!

Grisha


Rice Noodle Roll: A favourite multilayered character you’ve read (i.e. traits? skills? morally ambiguous?).

One of my all time favourite morally ambiguous characters is Victor Vale from Vicious. He is such a complex character and I loved reading about him. (I’m still hoping that there will be more books in this world!) I should also mention Eli, from the same book, as he is also a morally grey character. Though, personally, I liked Victor A LOT more!

Vicious


Shrimp Dumpling: A book with a transparent blurb that gives the story away.

I honestly can’t think of any book for this category. I tend to forget summaries immediately after reading them. (My brain apparently doesn’t comprehend them, or something.) So I really have no idea what blurbs gave away the story, though I’m sure that there are many out there.


Steamed BBQ Pork Buns: A book that is fluffy on the outside but packs a punch of flavour (e.g. message? depth? controversy?).

The first book that came to my mind was My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. From the cover and synopsis I expected a light contemporary read, but it was much more than that. There was a lot more depth to this book and it had important messages as well. This is a book I would recommend everyone to read, especially if you enjoy contemporary.

My Life Next Door


Chicken Feet: A book with divided opinions.

I think it’s quiet obvious why I picked Throne of Glass, or rather the whole series, by Sarah J. Maas. I have read this first book over three years ago and I honestly don’t remember much of it. I did give it 4 stars at that time, but I’m not sure that’s accurate (as I read it at the time I discovered the online book community and was swayed by the hype).

Sarah J Maas


Lotus-Wrapped Sticky Rice: A book you’ve received/given that was nicely packaged.

Both illustrated editions of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and Chamber of Secrets were Christmas gifts, so they were gifts and also very nicely packaged. (Sadly I don’t have pictures, because I’m impatient and opened them immediately.)


Egg Custard Tart: A book that uses simple ingredients and clichés but executes it perfectly.

Okay, I give up. I DON’T KNOW!! I seriously can’t think of any book that fits this category. I have basically been thinking about this question for days, but I just can’t think of any book that corresponds to this question. So, I’m sorry but I give up!


Mango Pudding with Evaporated Milk: Any book recommendation + beverage/snack that’s a winning combination.

Personally I love drinking warm beverages whenever I’m reading a fantasy book. I don’t know what it is, it just makes me relaxed and I enjoy reading even more that way. My preference of hot beverage is tea, especially black tea. (Before I would say coffee, but I have stopped drinking it.) So my recommendation would be A Game of Thrones and a cup of black tea.


Fried Sesame Balls: A book cover with embossed text/design you just love to run your fingers over.

I love how Percy Jackson’s Greek God by Rick Riordan and illustrated by John Rocco feels! I…don’t really have much to add to that. I have no idea how to describe why exactly I love it, so I shall leave it at this. Just trust me, this book feels amazing! XD

Percy Jackson


Dim Sum Steam Cart: The type of carrying bag you use to bring books around.

Um…I don’t really have one? I carry a book with me in whatever bag I’m carrying that day. Sometimes I have a backpack with me, when I have a lot of stuff to cary. Sometimes only a purse. It really depends on how much stuff I need to bring with me (and how long I’m staying out). Though if I don’t have enough space for a book I bring my Kindle with me. Sooo, I always have something to read wherever I go!


Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

19 thoughts on “The Dim Sum Book Tag

  1. Yum, dim sum! I absolutely loved Six of crows, one of the best books I read last year. I enjoyed Vicious but I felt like it kind of petered out a bit by the end, I raced through the first three quarters though, Schwab is such an amazing writer. I’ve read 4 of the Throne of Glass series and still, the best way I can describe my feelings towards it are: meh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Six of Crows is such an amazing book and I’m glad to hear that you loved it as well! Schwab is definitely an amazing writer, I have loved everything that I have read so far by her. And I can’t wait to read more of her books in the future! 😀 I just have no interest in reading Throne of Glass anymore, there are many books out there that I want to read and I just don’t want to waste my time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I totally feel you on Throne of Glass. I bought book 5 a while ago and just can’t find the motivation to read it. It’s worse when I know that even those who were super excited about the series were disappointed with it.

        Like

  2. Great tag, Anna! 😊
    I think ToG is definitely a series with divided opinions… But I recommend you read the second book, at least. Past those, I really didn’t enjoy it that much but tons of people did so…
    I’m really pumped for Truthwitch as I’ve read great reviews of it, but I’m kind of scared my expectations end up getting in the way of my reading experience. We’ll see!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sophie! 😀
      I have just lost all interest in the Throne of Glass series. I have heard that the first two books are good, but then they go downhill. And I honestly just don’t want to waste my time with those books, when I have sooo many books that I want to read.
      I hope you enjoy Truthwitch. I know a lot of people who loved it, sadly I wasn’t one of those people. I will look forward to your thoughts on that book, once you read it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re very welcome! Yeah I understand… I just have this undying hope that they will get better XD Especially with the new Tower of Dawn novel. But I know it probably won’t.
        Thanks! I hope I do 😊 I’ll try to write a review once I get to it, at least on Goodreads.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, well at least you enjoy them more now! Or at least are invested. XD I honestly just lost all interest in it, there are many more books out there that I want to read – so I’m not wasting my time on that series.

      Like

  3. Great answers for this tag Anna. Oh Vicious by V.E. Schwab is a perfect pick for the Rice Noodle Roll question. Pretty much every character in that book was grey and I had no idea who I was supposed to be rooting for. Victor seemed the obvious choice because the story followed him but the world seemed to believe in Eli to be the good guy. It was an incredible book with some of the most amazing character development I’ve ever read! 😀
    And yeah there are plenty of mixed reviews for Throne of Glass. I didn’t enjoy it as much as SJM’s other books but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, so a positive review I guess.
    God that Percy Jackson book looks amazing, and it’s just a picture of the front cover. I really need to complete my collection when it comes to that series! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth! 🙂 I loved the fact that every character in Vicious was grey, as they tend to be some of my favourite characters to read about. So it’s obvious why I loved that book, plus it’s Victoria Schwab. I agree, the character development in this book was really amazing! 😀
      That Percy Jackson book is beautiful inside and out. The cover and illustrations are done by the same person, so you can imagine how beautiful they are! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. Yeah if written well grey characters are wonderful to read, and V.E. Schwab wrote them brilliantly in Vicious.
        I really need to grow my Percy Jackson collection. At the moment I only have the first series and The Heroes of Olympus books.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this tag! Reading through made me super hungry XD
    I heard a lot of good things about Vicious by V.E. Schwab and it intrigues me that there’s a morally ambiguous character. I feel like in a lot of fantasy novels there’s a clear line between who’s good and bad. Maybe I should give this one a shot?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a really fun tag. And I completely understand, it made me hungry while writing it as well. XD
      Vicious is an amazing book and the characters are well developed as well. Actually nearly all of the characters in that book are morally ambiguous. It’s really hard to figure out on which side you should be. (I’m still not sure I know.) So I would highly recommend this book, if it sounds like something you would enjoy! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

