book review

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury || Book Review

The Forbidden WishTitle: The Forbidden Wish

Author: Jessica Khoury

Published: 24. January 2017

Edition: Razorbill

                 Paperback, 352 pages

Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult | Retelling

Summary:

She is the most powerful Jinni of all. He is a boy from the streets. Their love will shake the world. . . .

When Aladdin discovers Zahra’s jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn’t seen in hundreds of years–a world where magic is forbidden and Zahra’s very existence is illegal. She must disguise herself to stay alive, using ancient shape-shifting magic, until her new master has selected his three wishes.

But when the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity–only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin. When saving herself means betraying him, Zahra must decide once and for all: is winning her freedom worth losing her heart?

As time unravels and her enemies close in, Zahra finds herself suspended between danger and desire in this dazzling retelling of the Aladdin story from acclaimed author Jessica Khoury.

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 4.5 OUT OF 5 STARS ►

I never knew that I needed an Aladdin retelling until I read this book. This book was everything that I hoped it would be! It’s one of the most imaginative retellings that I have ever read and I simply couldn’t get enough of it.

The writing in this book was simply beautiful and very poetic. It fit the story perfectly and brought the magic and the world to life. The world created within this book was mesmerising and I loved finding out more and more about it, as the story continued. The world in itself was very well developed and I could easily imagine myself being part of it, as I was reading the story. I loved the magic and myths that were woven into this story as well, it made all of it feel even more real.

I loved the characters in this book. My favourite was definitely Zahra, whose perspective we read from throughout the book as well. She is a powerful and old jinni and you definitely feel that throughout the story. But she isn’t without flaws. While she is powerful, she is also insecure about things. While she is wise, she also makes mistakes. Zahra’s perspective was amazing to read from, as she is familiar with both the human world and the jinni one – so we are able to get a lot more information about both through her. I also loved finding out about her past with Roshana. (Not going into that, because of spoilers.) Zahra was such a fascinating character and I couldn’t get enough of her. I loved everything that she stood for!

Aladdin is another character that I loved. As you may know I’m a big fan of thief (assassin’s and other morally grey) characters in books, so my love for him was quiet obvious from the beginning. But the more I read about him the more I liked him. I loved how flirty he was, he just had a fun personality – although he had problems that were bothering him as well. He was such a well developed character and he kept surprising me throughout the whole book. It was also amazing finding out more about his origins and the things he has been through.

The romance in this book is one of the best that I have ever read! It was very sweet and simply heartwarming to read about. And it was very slow burning, which made it even more amazing. (I’m beyond sick of the insta-love stories!) The interactions between Zahra and Aladdin were so cute and fun to read about. I just adore the both of them, together and on their own.

The plot of the story was also very intriguing and a lot more complex than I thought it would be. I had some problems with the pacing at a some points, but beyond that I have nothing to complain about when it comes to this story. This book was simply wonderful and I would highly recommend it to everyone!


Have you read The Forbidden Wish? What did you think of it? Did you enjoy it as much as I did?

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

22 thoughts on “The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury || Book Review

  1. Such a gorgeous cover! I’ve never heard of this book before but it definitely sounds compelling, especially considering you rated it so highly. I hate insta-love romances so I the fact that you’ve said it’s a slow burning romance makes it much more appealing! Plus, I never could resist a good magic book. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really has a beautiful cover! I hate insta-love romances as well and sadly there are many out there, so it was very refreshing to read one that is slow burning. The magic is seriously amazing in this book! Well, seeing that I loved it I can only recommend you to read it. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review for this book Anna. I haven’t read this one but as a fairytale retelling it was an automatic add to my to-read list, also I saw another glowing review for this book and knew I had to move it up my to-read list. Your review has convinced me to move it even further up my to-read list so hopefully that means I’ll be able to get around to it even sooner! 😀
    This sounds like a wonderful retelling, I haven’t read many Aladdin ones so hopefully this will be one I really love too. Zahra sounds like a brilliant character and I love morally grey characters as much as you do so I have high hopes for Aladdin in this book as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth! 😀 It was such an amazing retelling! I haven’t read any Aladdin retellings beside this one, I honestly didn’t know they existed. Zahra is seriously wonderful, she is definitely one of my new favourite female characters.
      I can only recommend you to read this book, as it was a fantastic story! Plus it’s a standalone, so you don’t have to wait for more books to come out! 😉 I hope you enjoy it as much as I did, when you get to it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, and an amazing retelling sounds perfect for me! 🙂
        I’ve read one other Aladdin one but it wasn’t a good read at all. Shame because it was one I was quite excited for.
        Ohh, see the fact that it’s a standalone is great news. I need more standalones on my to-read list, and I’m terrible at waiting for more books in series to be released! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I keep hearing great things about this one and your review just made me want to read it even more. I don’t think I’ve ever come across an Aladdin retelling before so it’s cool to finally see one. That and I love thief characters in books too so lol. Great review for this, Anna!! I hope I enjoy it as much as you did whenever I get around to reading it. 😊💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t come across other Aladdin retellings either. It was such a wonderful story and the characters were really amazing as well. Zahra is definitely one of my new favourite female characters. 😀 Haha, thieves are amazing to read about! Thank you Melissa! ❤ I hope you enjoy it as much as I did as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t heard of a book for Aladdin retelling! How awesome! This book is going straight to my TBR for sure! I’m also happy that you enjoyed reading this book! yay! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hadn’t heard about any Aladdin retellings before this one. I was beyond exited by the premise! And it was simply amazing, it was everything that I hoped it would be. 🙂 Thank you! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did, when you get around to it.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. YES!! You need to read it, it’s such an amazing book! I don’t know of any other Aladdin retelling, so they are definitely rare (or I’m ill informed, it’s either one of those). Thank you!! 😀 I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

      Like

  5. Oh this sounds so good! I love morally gray characters myself so I think I’ll enjoy this one a lot 🙂 Glad to know the romance is slow-burning and so good, too! I’ve add this on my TBR for a while and really need to get to it.
    Wonderful review, Anna, as always ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

