wrap up

My BEST Month Of This WHOLE Year!? ||May Wrap Up

Monthly Wrap Up

May was a rather successful month for me and I mean that in all life aspects!

  • I was feeling great, I was just really happy most of the month, for no particular reason (though I’m not complaining about that),
  • I did a lot of work for university and had the most important presentation of this semester (which went very well),
  • I read quiet a lot, especially compared to the other months of this year, I’m finally out of my slump!!
  • And I was consistent with blogging, I posted at least 2 post each week.

Yes, May was really amazing and I’m very glad about that! (I mean, why wouldn’t I be?) Especially since May is usually one of my favourite months, because of the weather and because it’s my birthday month as well.

And yes, I finally made some graphics for my wrap ups. (It was seriously about time!) I’m very happy with the way that they look! What do you think of them?


Books I Read

This month I managed to read 4 books in total (and I read 200 pages of another book that I have yet to finish) and I’m beyond happy about that, especially since last month I haven’t read a single book. It’s seriously an amazing improvement and now I’m hoping that I will get back to reading as much as I used to (which is 7 to 8 books per month). I’m feeling very motivated when it comes to reading, which hasn’t been the case since the autumn of last year.

Roshani ChokshiThe Star-Touched Queen (The Star Touched Queen #1) by Roshani Chokshi

5 out of 5 stars

This was actually a reread for me, as many of you might already know since I have raved about this book in the past quiet a few times.

As I already mentioned in the beginning, I was in the biggest reading slump ever during the month of April. I hoped that rereading one of my favourite books would make me feel like reading again. And I was right! This book drew me out of my slump and made me want to read more and more, which I’m very happy about.

I obviously loved this book this time around as well. If you want to know more of my thoughts you can check out my full review, which is linked in the title of this book.

The Forbidden WishThe Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

4.5 out of 5 stars

The second book that I decided to pick up was The Forbidden Wish. And it was really the perfect choice that I could have made!

This is an Aladdin retelling, a concept that I have never encountered before. This book was everything that I hoped it would be! It was just the book that I needed and I simply adored it.

The world, the magic, the characters, the story – everything was simply captivating and made me love this book. The two main characters, Zahra and Aladdin, became some of my all time favourites! And yes, you should definitely read this book if you haven’t yet.

If you want more in depth thoughts you can check out my review, which is linked in the title of this book (and also below).

Carmer and GritThe Wingsnatchers (Carmer and Grit #1) by Sarah Jean Horwitz

4 out of 5 stars

This story was such a fun adventure. It’s the story of Carmer, a boy who is interested in automations and inventing (and is a magicians apprentice), and Grit, a one-winged faerie princes (that can’t fly).

I really enjoyed reading the story and finding out more about the worlds and how they coexist with each other. And by worlds I mean the faerie world and the human, steampunk, world. The mystery and story were very interesting as well, overall it was a great read!

I have a full review for this book as well, which is linked in the title of this book. And yes, somehow I have reviews for nearly all the books that I read this month.

Quinsey Wolfe's Glass VaultQuinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault (Glass Vault #1by Candace Robinson

2 out of 5 stars

This story was rather addicting, I just needed to know what was going to happen next. I even managed to read it in one sitting and that doesn’t happen often to me. The beginning of the book was boring, but once the retellings start it gets much more interesting!

The characters were bland, I don’t feel like any of them developed in any way and I they weren’t really memorable either. Overall this book didn’t impress me, I expected a lot more from it.

There is also some ACEPHOBIA and TOKENISM in this book, that were obviously problematic. I will get into more details about that in my full review, which I will be posting soon.


Blog Posts

Miscellaneous:

Reviews:

Features:

Tags/Awards:


How was your May? What was your favourite read of the month?

Thank you very much for reading my review and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

28 thoughts on “My BEST Month Of This WHOLE Year!? ||May Wrap Up

  1. That is a lot of good reading, Anna!
    I need to snap out of my slump.
    I love retellings. Too bad ‘Vault’ did not have more charming characters. I may take a peek at ‘Forbidden Wish’.
    Happy Reading!
    ~Icky. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was surprisingly a lot of good reading this month and I’m very happy about that. I hope that you get out of your slump soon as well!
      It’s really too bad, I found the characters to be very forgettable. I can only recommend The Forbidden Wish, it was an amazing read.
      Thank you! Happy reading to you as well! 😀

      Like

    1. May was really fantastic and I couldn’t be happier about that1 😀 I can only recommend both of them, as I loved both a lot. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did when you get to them!
      Thank you! I hope your June will be great as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like you had an awesome month Anna! It is always good to get out of slumps!! I had a fine month, it was great for blogging but only ok for reading but school is almost out for me, which is good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I don’t mind, I just used a random lace patterned background and then, in the picture editor that I have on my Mac, added the square and the text. That’s really all I did and I hope that my answer helps you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you soo much Fadwa! ❤ This month turned out to be a lot better than I expected.
      The Forbidden Wish was seriously amazing and I'm beyond happy to have read it! 😀
      Thank you! I hope you your upcoming months will be amazing as well! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow it seems like you had a great month in May Anna, 🙂 I’m so happy you’re finally out of your reading slump, and it seems like for the most part you had some amazing books to read once you came out of your slump. I haven’t read The Forbidden Wish myself yet, though I’ve heard some amazing things about it and want to get started on it soon, but I have read and really loved The Star-Touched Queen so I’m thrilled that was a five star read for you too. 🙂
    Also your graphics look really pretty as well, and happy belated birthday! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My May was seriously amazing! I didn’t even realise how amazing it was until I started writing this post and actually thinking about what I ended up doing! XD I can only recommend you The Forbidden Wish, it was such an amazing story and world, plus it had a wonderful romance as well. 🙂 The Star-Touched Queen was such a beautiful book, I can’t wait to read the companion novel for it soon!
      Thank you soo much Beth on both accounts! ❤ 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I find that with my recaps as well. I don’t realise how much I’ve done/read until I’m looking back at it. The Forbidden Wish is on my to-read list for sure, and the companion novel for The Star-Touched Queen was even better in my opinion.
        That’s all right! 😀 ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad to hear that May was a great month for you, Anna!! That’s awesome that you’ve finally gotten out of your reading slump and it looks like for the most part you read a lot of great books this month, minus Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault. The feeling of finally getting out of a slump is always the best. My May was a bit slumpy on the blogging front but for reading it was incredible. Probably my best reading month ever. Here’s to hoping that June is an incredible month as well! Also, I love your graphics. 😊💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. May was beyond amazing for me, it turned out to be a lot better than I expected it to be. Also glad to FINALLY be out of the reading slump! 😀 I read some amazing books this month, with one exception, but they were all a lot of fun and I greatly enjoyed myself! 🙂 Glad to hear that you had a good reading month, and hopefully you will get out of your little blogging slump soon. Thank you! I hope that your June will be incredible as well! ❤ Yaaay, I'm glad that you love them!! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

