book review

Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault by Candace Robinson || ARC Review

Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher (through NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.


Quinsey Wolfe's Glass VaultTitle: Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault

           ( Glass Vault #1 )

Author: Candace Robinson

Published: 16. May 2017

Edition: Kindle, 168 pages

Genre: Young Adult | Horror

Summary:

Some see it… Some don’t…

People in the town of Deer Park, Texas are vanishing. There is a strange museum, known as Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault, that appears overnight. Perrie Madeline’s best friend and ex-boyfriend are among the missing. Perrie, along with her friend August, go on a pursuit to search for them in the mysterious museum. Could the elusive Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault have anything to do with their disappearances?

A book that intertwines horror with retellings

Goodreads | Bookdepository | Amazon

◄ 2 OUT OF 5 STARS ►

This story was rather addicting, I just needed to know what was going to happen next. I even managed to read it in one sitting and that doesn’t happen often to me. The beginning of the book was boring and slow. It basically introduced the characters and their situations, I didn’t care much about that if I’m being honest. Once the retellings start it gets much more interesting and it becomes impossible to put this book down. The retellings were amazingly creepy and I greatly enjoyed them! I wish there were even more of them, as they were definitely my favourite part of the book.

The characters were bland, I don’t feel like any of them developed in any way and they weren’t really memorable either. There wasn’t a single character that I particularly cared about. I just cared about the story as I wanted to know what was actually going on in that museum. There was also kind of a love triangle thing happening (somewhat?) and as you may know I tend to very much dislike those as well.

Now onto the two of the biggest problems that I had with this book.

First there was an instance of ACEPHOBIA at the beginning of this book. (I believe in the first 5 to 7 %) Our main character, Perrie thinks this while describing her best friend:

“Maisie gets plenty of offers from both guys and girls, but as I have come to realize, there’s no one like her. Sometimes, I think she’s asexual like certain plants.”

Everything is fine, aside from the last part. “Certain plants” was seriously unnecessary and could have easily not been mentioned. As this is an ARC that I read I hope that the finished edition doesn’t have this. It put a bad taste in my mouth immediately and honestly I’m happy that it was the only instance of it.

The second problem was the TOKENISM. Maisie, the best friend of Perrie, is biracial. Her father is from somewhere in the Middle East. And I’m wording it like that because we have no idea where he is actually from, as it’s only referenced in passing. Nothing else indicated that Maisie was biracial, I honestly forgot that she was while I was reading the book.

Overall this book didn’t impress me. I expected a lot more from it and was left rather disappointed. I honestly wouldn’t recommend this book.


Have you read Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault? What did you think of this book? Did you have the same problems as me?

Thank you very much for reading my review and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

4 thoughts on “Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault by Candace Robinson || ARC Review

  1. Great review, Anna! It’s a shame that you didn’t enjoy this one…
    I see it everywhere now, as it’s written by a fellow blogger, and I love that! It’s great to know Candace is making it in the book world ^^
    Personally, I won’t read it for that exact reason, as I find it hard to remain unbiased while reviewing. Still, I enjoyed reading your thoughts on it. Flat characters, slow pace and love triangles are not good (most of the time). Good luck with your next read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sophie! And yeah, it’s too bad that I didn’t enjoy it that much.
      It’s always amazing seeing fellow bloggers publish books! I’m beyond happy for them. 😀
      Yeah, sometimes it’s hard to be unbiased. I always try my best to remain as unbiased as possible, but that doesn’t work out sometimes the way I want it to. Sadly this book was disappointing in those aspects.
      Thank you! I’m already enjoying my next read a lot! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

