top ten tuesday

Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t (and the reasons WHY) || Top Ten Tuesday

Feature

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme

created and hosted by lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish.


As you can already tell by the title of this post, the theme of this week is the series we have been meaning to start but haven’t. For some reason I’m feeling like rambling today, so I have decided to give you exact reasons as to WHY I haven’t started these series yet! Let’s be real, they are mostly excuses that I make for myself. Also a fair warning beforehand: this turned out to be a REALLY LONG post (it has over 1700 words), sorry about that – apparently I just couldn’t stop rambling. (It happens sometimes.)

Now let’s get into the series!

10. The Trials of Apollo and Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Riordan

I have already read a few series by Rick Riordan. More specifically: Percy Jackson and the Olympians, The Heroes of Olympus and The Kane Chronicles. And I have greatly enjoyed all of them! Rick Riordan is definitely one of my favourite authors.

So why haven’t I started these two series yet? (As I’m bound to enjoy them.)

Simply because I love binge reading his series and I’m waiting for more books to come out. That’s also the reason that these two series aren’t much higher on my list.


9. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

I have read the Shiver trilogy by Maggie Stiefvater previously (some years ago that is) and I remember enjoying it and that I especially liked the writing style (though I don’t remember that much about it, just some key things that happened). I have heard many amazing things about The Raven Cycle. They sound like books that I would really enjoy! Plus the covers are gorgeous and I just want to have them on my shelves as well!

Why haven’t I started this series yet?

Honestly I don’t have the money to get the editions that I want at the moment. I really want to own these books in hardcover, but as I’m an university student I don’t really have the money to get them now. (Though I do own the first book on my Kindle and I could read it, but we shall ignore that!)


8. The Riyria Revelations by Michael J. Sullivan

I have heard many great things about this series, they have been recommended for people who enjoyed The Lies of Locke Lamora and I simply ADORED that book! Plus the premise of the first books sounds beyond amazing and like something I would absolutely love! I mean it’s about a thief and a mercenary that get framed for killing the king. If this isn’t my kind of book I don’t know what is!

So why in the world haven’t I already read this series?

For this one I honestly have no idea! Maybe because I’m already in the middle of a few high fantasy series (and those tend to be very long series with huge books) and I don’t want to read many of those at the same time! I want to start this series sooo badly (I even own the first book), hopefully soon I will.


7. The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss

Everyone and their mother recommends this series to fantasy lovers. I have heard that both the story and the writing are beyond beautiful and that I will love them immediately. (Not that I’m intimidated that I will dislike this series, no way.) I don’t actually know much about this series, only that the main character is telling his life story to someone.

Why haven’t I started this series?

There are two reasons for this. The first is actually the same as with the previously mentioned series – I just don’t want to start that many high fantasy series at the same time. And the second one? WHEN in the world will the third book come out?! Nobody knows! I really don’t want to read this series and then have to wait AGES for the final book to be released.


6. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

As you may already know Neil Gaiman is one of my favourite authors. So far I have read 7 of his books and I have enjoyed all of them a lot! (Thank you goodreads for allowing me to keep track of that easily.) I have heard that you either love or hate American Gods and that it’s one of those books that simply isn’t for everyone. (Or that’s what people have told me anyway.)

Why haven’t I started this series yet?

I’m a bit nervous that I won’t enjoy the book, but mostly it’s just because I haven’t gotten to this book yet. (Obviously not, or else it wouldn’t be on this list.) I’m slowly making my way through Gaiman’s books and this should be the next one of his that I pick up. So it’s more that this series wasn’t on my radar for that long, rather then me putting of reading it. (There is a first for everything apparently.)


5. Red Rising by Pierce Brown

I have heard many amazing things about this series, especially from my blogging friends. Science Fiction isn’t a genre that I read too often, but I really want to get more into it. And this series seems perfect for that! I find the whole premise very intriguing, plus having heard great things about it from people whose opinions I trust makes me even more exited to pick this series up!

So why haven’t I at least started this series yet?

As I already mentioned, Sci-Fi isn’t a genre that I often reach for. So I always end up putting of this series because of that. (Yes I know, shame on me and all that!) Plus, lately when I went book shopping to my local bookstore the book was never there, so I couldn’t really get my hands on it. (Excuses, excuses!)


4. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Once again many of my blogging friends have raved about this series and recommended it to me. I have heard that Laini Taylor has one of the most beautiful writing styles EVER! Plus I’m also very intrigued that this story takes place in Prague, as I have never read a story set there (and Prague is a city I REALLY want to visit).

Why haven’t I started this series yet?

I literary have no excuses for this one! (But I shall still try to come up with something.) I’m in the middle of quiet a few series at the moment. I have the horrible habit of starting series and then not finishing them. So before getting into any new ones, I want to finish a few of the ones that I have already started. (As I said, I really don’t have a specific excuse for this one!)


3. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

I have heard nothing but amazing things about this duology. Everyone seems to adore it! (Once again, I’m not intimidated to dislike these books. Year right.) The premise of these books sounds amazing as well and definitely like something that I would enjoy a lot! I actually don’t know many details about this book, which I’m quiet happy about as I enjoy going into a book mostly blind.

So why am I among the last people out there to pick this series up?

I was waiting for these covers to be released (the second book in this edition was released in April of 2017) and then I could never find these books at my local bookstore. I have NO IDEA why they don’t stock them! I hope that they will arrive there soon, as I really want to get my hands on this duology. (I could order them online, but my mom pays for those books and I don’t want to ask her for money right now.)


2. The Young Elites by Marie Lu

I have read the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu previously and I enjoyed it a lot! It was so fast paced, action packed with interesting characters. What more could I ask for? Marie Lu has a way of writing that feels like watching a movie and I have always wanted to read more of her books. When I heart that these books focus on an antagonist I was SOLD and I knew that I had to have them!

One again, why haven’t I started this series?

I was waiting for the final book to be released, as I love reading Marie Lu’s books back to back. I just feel like I get the most out of them that way. I planned on getting all the books as soon as the third one was released, but then I decided to go on a book buying ban and that didn’t happen. (I need to read 5 books before buying 1 new one, so we shall see when I will actually get my hands on them.)


1. Seven Realms by Cinder Williams Chima

And the series that I have wanted to read for the longest time is the Seven Realms series. I have literary wanted to read this series for YEARS! (And no, that’s not me exaggerating.) This sounds just like the type of fantasy book that I enjoy reading, plus I have heard many amazing things about it from people whose opinion I trust.

Why in the world haven’t I started this series yet then?

I HAVE NO IDEA! This is one I literary have no excuse for. I have wanted to get this series, or at least the first book for ages and I always put it of for some reason. I should probably just get the whole box set and be done with putting of reading this series. (I guess I know what I will wish for next, when someone wants to buy me a gift.)


If you have made it thorough this long post: CONGRATULATION! I really didn’t expect it to be this long when I started writing it.

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have an amazing day!

-Anna♥

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

41 thoughts on “Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t (and the reasons WHY) || Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Out of all these what I want to read the most is The Raven Cycle, but I’ve heard kind of mixed things about it (more good than bad and more meh than bad) but some of my friends haven’t exactly loved the books, still, I have to check them out for myself. My issue is not a hard cover issue, instead it’s a doing most of my books in ebook format and having the ebook “not be available in my region”. WEIRD.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really? I have heard many amazing things about it, I only know one person who didn’t enjoy that book. Well, I hope that both of us will enjoy The Raven Boys. That’s seriously weird! I have no idea why it wouldn’t be available in your region, hope that gets fixed soon!

      Like

  2. DROP EVERYTHING YOU ARE DOING AND READ THE RAVEN CYCLE! That is one of my all time favorite series I read it over and over! I love Maggie Stiefvater’s writing, such a good series! This is a good list. I have Red Rising and The Seven Realms on mine as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really NEED to do that! But I’m a mood reader, so who knows when I will actually end up reading it! 😀 (Though I’m hopeful that it will be soon.) I have heard many amazing things about the writing in the Raven Cycle and I can’t wait to check it out for myself.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Some of these are favourite series of mine Anna, series I really hope you love as much as I did, and some are still on my to-read list as well! 😀
    I have both Trials of Apollo and Magnus Chase still on my TBR lists. I tend to binge read Rick Riordan’s books and then not pick up the next for ages so I’ll probably do the same with both his new series. Also I’ve heard amazing things about The Young Elites, and seen it on a few people’s TTT picks this week, so one day I’ll get around to that series myself.
    The Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Red Rising and Raven Cycle series are all-time favourites of mine so I hope you love them Anna, I’ll definitely be looking forwards to seeing your reviews for them all.
    Again great picks and happy reading! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really glad to hear that! It makes me even more exited to get to them now. 😀 Though as I’m a mood reader, we shall see when I will actually get to it.
      Well at least there will be more Rick Riordan books out by that time, so you at least won’t have to wait that long. The Young Elites is definitely one of the books that I want to read the soonest, it just seems like a book that I would enjoy at the moment. Though I do need to buy it still, which might happen soon.
      I’m BEYOND exited to get to all three series! The all sound like books that I would love and I’m hoping to get to at least some of them this year!
      Thank you beth! ❤ Happy reading to you as well! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m a mood reader as well so I really get where you’re coming from here Anna! 😀 Yeah there’s hopefully always going to be more Rick Riordan books out right? I have The Young Elites, I just need to actually get around to reading it, and the Legend series Marie Lu wrote as well.
        That’s all right! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope you do decide to read the Raven Cycle, it is truly a beautiful series!
    I’m still slowly making my way through the Percy Jackson books, and I’m loving them, I have no idea why it took me so long to do so! 😛
    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely plan on reading it, though I don’t have any idea when exactly.
      The Percy Jackson books are beyond amazing! I’m glad that you are loving them! 😀 Also, better late then never – I’m very happy that you decided to pick them up.
      Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, I’m glad that you agree! 😀 I just had fun coming up with excuses, though I don’ think that most of them count.
      As far as I know the third book is the final one in the Kingkiller Chronicles, but it’s been pushed back a lot and I have no idea when it will actually come out.
      Thank you Sophie! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The Raven Cycle is so good! I also love both Rick Riordan’s series, I admire you being able to wait to binge read, I would but that would mean going 3-5 years without a Rick Riordan book, and I just can’t do that! I have also been meaning to get to Daughter of Smoke and Bone for ages, I’m hoping to finally read the first book this summer. I have The Wrath and The Dawn and The Young Elites on my TBR, but no idea when I’ll get to them.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/06/20/top-ten-tuesday-112/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed The Raven Cycle. Rick Riordan books are ALWAYS amazing, so I’m really beyond exited to start those two series of his. I have heard many amazing things about The Daughter of Smoke and Bone and I hope that you enjoy it when you get to it.

      Like

  6. stiefvater’s writing style is absolutely amazing- I hope you get to Raven Boys soon! But I get what you mean about not having the money for the right editions (mine are mismatched- *oh the shame*!) Ah I totally get what you mean about Name of the Wind- I’ve been waiting on the third one for *years*! Ah I get that about the Gaiman books- it’s the same reason I didn’t read them for ages- I just hadn’t heard of them. Red Rising is so amazing- and I say that as someone who only recently was introduced to sci fi!! Daughter of Smoke and Bone, the Young Elites and Seven Realms are all incredible!! I hope you enjoy them!! And I love how you did this post- going into why you hadn’t picked them up yet!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m a sucker for beautiful writing, so I’m very exited to read The Raven Boys. Yeah, it’s seriously too bad that the hardcovers are that expensive, though I do own already a lot of books that I need to read – so it’s good for that at least! 😀 Wow, I can’t even imagine waiting that long for the final book to be released. I really can’t wait for Red Rising, it simply sounds like a book that I would love. I really hope I enjoy all of them as well. Glad you loved me rambling about that! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  7. OMG I have not started “The Name of the Wind” for almost the exact same reason. I have heard the books are amazing and beyond this world, but I don’t want to get to the second book and then wait… forgetting the other two… but it is a good “excuse” to reread then… mmm

    About “The Raven Cycle”… I will say that I cannot spend more money either… XD

    Great post! Check mines 🙂 will like to have your point of view!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same! I know soooo many people that love The Name of the Wind, but I really don’t want to wait for years for the final book to be released. Though it’s true that that is a good reason to reread them! 🙂
      Yeah, the hardcovers are really expensive for that series.
      Thank you! 😀

      Like

  8. Oh my goodness, I swear you and I have like minds. It is absolute torture sometimes dealing with series. I hate getting so wrapped up in two or three books (heck even the first one) only to have to wait months or *gasps* years before I’m able to read the next one. Why, why do they do this to us?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, glad that our minds are similar! 😀 It seriously is, sometimes series can be such a bother. It’s seriously the worst having to wait that long for the next book to come out! I wish there were more standalone fantasy books, I really need more of those in my life!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Yes! I’m the same way about Trials of Apollo – I am definitely biding my time until the series is finished so I don’t have to wait between books. And The Young Elites is one of my favorite books of all time, so I hope you end up reading it and like it as much as I do! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Waiting for Riordan’s books is seriously the worst! I definitely prefer waiting a bit and then reading at least 2 of his books in a row. 🙂 I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed The Young Elites and I’m beyond exited to read that series! Thank you soo much! ❤

      Like

  10. Oh this is such a lovely list, Anna! I have read and LOVED The Raven Boys trilogy. I haven’t read anything else by the author but really fell in love with her writing style and her characters and just the universe of these books. I hope you’ll love them when you get to them 😀
    I adored The Wrath and The Dawn duology, they are among my favorite books. The writing style, the world, the relationships and characters, I just loved everything about it. I reaaaaally hope you’ll read it soon and love it 🙂
    I only read the first book in the Young Elites series but…well, it was pretty great – I’m so happy you liked the Legend series. I need to add it to my TBR 🙂
    Lovely post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Marie! 🙂 I’m very glad to hear that you loved The Raven Boys, it makes me even more exited to get to it some time in the future! Maggie Stiefvater has so many books out that interest me and I definitely need to read more of her works!
      They are definitely the books that I plan on buying sooner than later! I’m really in the mood for a story like that, plus everyone keeps raving about The Wrath and the Dawn and I really want to read it. I’m sure that I will love it, as they sound exactly like books that I tend to enjoy a lot! 😀
      Legend was really good and fast paced, plus I read it when I was in the biggest mood for a dystopian novel – so there is that as well! I definitely recommend it. 🙂 The Young Elites sounds really interesting and I’m exited to get to it in the future. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it.
      Thank you!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

