wrap up

I’M BACK!! || June Wrap Up

Monthly Wrap Up

As the title of this post already said: I’M BACK! ❤

This is also the 200th post that I have ever posted on my blog! And that feels really weird, probably because I’m usually not that consistent with anything. (Yes, I’m trying to change that about myself.)

My Bookish Dream

June was a rather busy moth for me. In the beginning of it I decided to visit my home town, which included two bus journeys for over 8 hours each. It was amazing seeing my friends and family again and just spending time in the town that I grew up in. And I got to see the latest Pirates of the Caribbean movie with my best friend while I was there – which was simply AMAZING (both the experience and the movie)! We have seen the last two movies together in the cinema and re-watched all the movies numerous times together as well. (Just some random backstory to those movies.)

When I got back to Austria I had to go back to classes and studying. June is the month when all of my exams are (or at least the first date for them). That’s also the reason for my blogging break. But now they are done and I’m nearly free! I say nearly because I still have to write a thesis, but I have until the 12th to do that and I have already done quiet a bit of work for it – so I should be all right.

I’m sooo happy to finally have a lot more free time! I’m also very happy to be back to blogging, I have seriously missed it!

Books I Read

I managed to read 2 books this month and 20 volumes of a manga.

I’m BEYOND happy with the amount that I read this month! June was very successful when it came to reading for me, which I didn’t expect to happen as it was my exam month and studying took up quiet a lot of time. (That might also be the reason that I decided to reread a manga series this past month.) I also very much enjoyed EVERYTHING that I read, which is always wonderful! Now let’s get into the books and the manga that I read in June!

Neil GaimanNorse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

4 out of 5 stars

Neil Gaiman has a way of writing stories that simply sucks me in immediately and I can’t put his books down. This book was no exception to that. I was a bit worried going into this book, as I had never previously read any of his short stories (and in general I don’t tend to read that many short stories). My worries turned out to be unnecessary, as I ended up enjoying all of his stories – obviously some more than the others.

It was also amazing to learn about Norse mythology, as I had no prior knowledge of it. I have written a full review for it, which is linked in the title. (And below as well.)

A Mortal SongA Mortal Song by Megan Crewe

4 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book! It was such a fun read with very heartwarming characters. Plus it’s set in Japan and has quiet a few elements of Japanese mythology, which I really enjoyed as well. The biggest problem that I had with this book was the pacing at some points of the story, it just felt unnecessary drawn out. One of the aspects of this book that I loved the most is the main character Sora, she was simply brilliant! She definitely became one of my new favourite characters.

I am going to be posting my full review for this book soon, so if you are interested in more of my in-depth thoughts look forward to that!

My rating: 9/10 (Great)

Black Cat is one of my all time favourite manga! I read it for the first time some years ago and immediately fell in love with it. The premise of the story just sounded like something that I would like and I randomly decided to read it – which was an amazing decision as I soon became completely obsessed with it.

This is the third time that I have reread the manga completely. (Sometimes I reread some of my favourite chapters/volumes.) I was simply in the mood to revisit this story. I didn’t expect to reread the whole 20 volumes though, I just couldn’t stop reading it at all! The characters in this manga are simply amazing, I adore every single one of them.  (My favourite is definitely Train though!) The story is very interesting and intense as well, with a lot of action and magical powers.

Black Cat is simply an amazing manga and I can only recommend it to everyone! Though it started coming out in 2006, so the art style is a bit dated. (Just wanted to point that out.)

Summary:

Train Heartnet is an amicable bounty hunter—known as a “Sweeper”—with a talent for sharpshooting. Working alongside his cool-headed partner Sven Vollfied, they hunt down wanted criminals. Unfortunately, however, despite their efforts, the dynamic duo always seems to be short on money, which forces them to accept a job from the beautiful Rinslet Walker, a sly thief for hire, and a mysterious girl named Eve.

However, the motley crew soon discovers a terrible plot to revolutionize the world, and the mastermind is someone Train knows and loathes with a passion. As the plan is set into motion, it is soon made clear that behind the carefree sharpshooter’s smiling face lies a tragic past and an insatiable desire for revenge. (Taken from MyAnimeList.)


Blog Posts

Reviews:

Features:

Miscellaneous:


How was your June? Did you have a good month?

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have an amazing day!

-Anna♥

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

12 thoughts on “I’M BACK!! || June Wrap Up

    1. Thank you! 😀 I seriously can’t believe that I posted that much. Yeah, I really managed to read a lot this month, which surprised me quiet a lot! 🙂 (Not that I’m complaining about that.) I agree, the feeling of not having anything to do is the best!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Welcome back Anna, and congratulations on publishing 200 posts as well! I bet it must have been exciting seeing that notification pop up on your WordPress feed. 🙂
    I’m glad you enjoyed Norse Mythology, hopefully I’ll be able to get around to that one soon because I love Neil Gaiman’s work and I love books about mythology so this has to be a winner for me. Also you managed to get through a fair few books this month too. I’m glad June was a successful month for you, and I hope July is more of the same! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth! I’m really happy to be back. 😀 It was really exiting seeing the notification, as I didn’t expect it at all. It was such a nice surprise!
      I’m really happy that I enjoyed Norse Mythology. But it’s Neil Gaiman and mythology, two things I absolutely adore – so I don’t think there was ever the possibility of me not enjoying it! I hope you get to it soon and that you will end up liking it as much as I did! 🙂 Yes, I really managed to read quiet a lot this month, a lot more than I thought I would. Thank you! ❤ July should be amazing, after all I'm finally on my break and have a lot more free time and much less stress. I hope you have an amazing July as well! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. I completely get what you mean. I got a notification yesterday when I posted my five hundredth post and I wasn’t expecting that at all. 🙂
        I feel the same, the two are a winning combination so I know without reading it I’m going to love it. 🙂 I feel the months you manage to read more than expected are always the better months aren’t they?
        Sounds like you deserve that break then, and thanks Anna! 😀 ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

