standalone sunday

Standalone Sunday: The Forbidden Wish

Feature

Standalone Sunday is a weekly feature created by Megan @bookslayerReads that allows us to feature books, that are not part of a series, that we loved.


The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

The Forbidden Wish

She is the most powerful Jinni of all. He is a boy from the streets. Their love will shake the world…

When Aladdin discovers Zahra’s jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn’t seen in hundreds of years—a world where magic is forbidden and Zahra’s very existence is illegal. She must disguise herself to stay alive, using ancient shape-shifting magic, until her new master has selected his three wishes. 

But when the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity—only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin. When saving herself means betraying him, Zahra must decide once and for all: is winning her freedom worth losing her heart?

As time unravels and her enemies close in, Zahra finds herself suspended between danger and desire in this dazzling retelling of Aladdin.


The Forbidden Wish is one of the best books that I have read this year! It was EVERYTHING that I hoped it would be! The world and magic was wonderfully imaginative, the characters intriguing and the story compelling. Basically I enjoyed everything about this book! I do have a full review for this book that you can check out, if you want to know more of my thoughts.

I was immediately intrigued by this book when I heard that it was an Aladdin retelling, as I had never read one before. Obviously I ended up loving this book. I especially loved the two main characters, Zahra and Aladdin – they were both strong characters that were very well developed. I adored them on their own and together as well! Their interactions were very fun and amazing to read. I can’t recommend this book highly enough, everyone NEEDS to read it!


Have you read The Forbidden Wish? What did you think of it?

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have a wonderful day!

-Anna♥

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

11 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: The Forbidden Wish

  1. IVE BEEN EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK SINCE FOREVER!!! I finally got my hands on it on Friday and I’m so, so excited to read it! I’ve heard nothing but good things, and your liking for it has only increased my excitement! I’m ready!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I started this book maybe like a year ago (when it first was published) and STILL haven’t finished it! Reading the first few chapters I kind of got the feeling that Zahra was too… powerful, somehow, and that kind of turned me off. I’m glad to hear that you liked it though and I’m hoping to give it another chance… eventually. Somewhere down the line. When I have the time. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree Zahra is very powerful, but she is kind of supposed to be the most powerful Jinni so there is that! 😛 But I get where you’re coming from. I would definitely recommend you to give it another chance. The more you read the better the story and characters become! I hope you find the time to give it a second chance and maybe you will like it the second time around more! 😀

      Like

  3. This is such a GREAT choice, Anna! I read The Forbidden Wish earlier this year and I fell in love with it. The writing, the universe, the characters, everything made me fall in love ❤ I feel like this book isn't mentioned enough, it deserves more praise for sure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad that you like my choice! 😀 This book was seriously amazing and I loved all aspects of it! Especially the world and the characters. ❤ I completely agree! This book definitely needs to be mentioned more and more people should read it as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

