tag

The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag || 2017 Edition

Tag

I was tagged by the amazing Heather @The Sassy Book GeekΒ to do this tag. Thank you once more! ❀ πŸ™‚ Be sure to check out her blog!

As you can probably tell by the title, this isn’t the first time that I’m doing this tag. I have done it the previous two years as well and it’s become somewhat of a tradition. (The 2015 Edition and 2016 Edition, if you are interested in checking them out.) This year I haven’t been reading as much, I have only finished 15 books so far – so my answers might be a bit repetitive. Although, it does make actually picking my answers easier, so there is that as well!


1. BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2017

It has to be, without a doubt, A Darker Shade of Magic by the wonderful Victoria Schwab. This book was simply amazing in every aspect! I loved the world and magic system that Schwab has created within this story. I can’t wait to continue reading this series and getting more information about the world, as I’m VERY fascinated by it. The characters were wonderful as well! The story, though slow at the beginning, turned out to be amazing as well.

And I have rambled enough, if you want more I do have a full review which you can check out. πŸ˜‰

Victoria Schwab


2. BEST SEQUEL YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2017

I haven’t actually read that many sequels this year. (Or any really. For whatever reason, I definitely NEED to change that!) One that I did read was City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare and I really enjoyed this book, even though I didn’t completely love it. It was a lot better than the first book. (No, I still don’t like either Clary or Jace.) I’m very much looking forward to continuing this series, especially if the books keep getting better!

I have a full review for this book, so if you want to know more of my thoughts you can check it out.

Shadowhunters


3. MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEAR

It’s obviously The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo. I have adored both The Grisha trilogy and the Six of Crows duology. I’m basically exited about any book that Leigh Bardugo releases and this one is no exception!Β The Language of Thorns is a collection of fairy tales that are told in the Grisha universe. I ADORE fairy tales! So that is another reason that I’m beyond exited about this book to come out! I have also heard that it’s illustrated, which makes it even better!

Grisha


4. BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT

A book that I expected a lot from was Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault by Candace Robinson, but it ended up disappointing me very much instead. The premise sounded very interesting and like something that I would immensely enjoy. I was immediately drawn to it when I saw that it has some horror story retelling.Β (Plus the cover is simply gorgeous as well!) This book turned out to be rather flat for me, with a few interesting aspects but also some major problems.

I have a full review of this book where I go more into detail as to why I didn’t enjoy it and the problems that I had with it. So if you want to know more of my thoughts you can check it out.

Quinsey Wolfe's Glass Vault


5. BIGGEST SURPRISE

The book that surprised me the most was Dark Tales by Shirley Jackson. This is a short story collection of dark tales, as the title implies. Don’t get me wrong, this book wasn’t one of my favourites (I ended up giving it 3.5 stars) but the stories in itself surprised me very much! I didn’t expected them to be as eerie and unnerving as they were.Β That was the aspect of these short stories that I enjoyed the most.

Shirley Jackson


6. FAVOURITE NEW AUTHOR

No one actually. For an author to become one of my favourites I need to read at least a few books by them (two or more). There wasn’t a single new author that I read multiple books from this year and that’s why I don’t have a new favourite one.


7. NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH

This one I actually had to think about, as I don’t have fictional crushes that often. In the end I decided to go with Kell from A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria Schwab. I simply adored him as a character and I can’t wait to read the other books from this series to get more of him in them. (I’m beyond exited to read the other two books in this series, as I have heard that they only get better!)

Victoria Schwab


8. NEWEST FAVOURITE CHARACTER

Two of my new favourite characters are Zahra and Aladdin from The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury. They were both such strong characters in their own way and I simply adored them.Β I loved them on their own and together as well. Their interactions were amazing to read! Everyone needs to read this book, as it was simply fantastic!

The Forbidden Wish


9. BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY

The only book that I remember that made me cry was Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, but that’s no surprise as I always end up crying whenever I reread a Harry Potter book. That’s just a thing that happens. I guess that I’m just to emotionally attached to this series. I read the illustrated edition of this book for the fist time this year and it was simply beautiful!

Harry Potter


10. BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY

The first book that came to my mind was The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. Why? Because I reread this book this year and ended up loving it as much as I did the first time I read it. It just made me very happy to get back into this story and world once again. This book is beautifully written with an amazing story and characters. This is definitely a book that I will be rereading many times in the future!

Roshani Chokshi


11. FAVOURITE BOOK TO FILM ADAPTATION

None actually. I haven’t seen a single book to movie adaptation this year, so I can’t possibly have a favourite one. In general I’m just not a big movie person, I rarely end up watching movie.Β I just prefer watching tv shows and anime over movies.


12. FAVOURITE POST YOU’VE DONE THIS YEAR

I have published 54 posts in the first six months of this year. How in the world do you expect me to choose one favourite among them?! I love and am proud of all the posts that I publish, otherwise they would end up in the trash and not published at all. I guess a few posts that I particularly liked from the first half of the year are:


13. MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT THIS YEAR

I haven’t been buying that many books this year. I’m actually on a book buying ban where I need to read 5 books before buying one new one. And seeing as I haven’t been reading much this year, I haven’t been buying many books either. A gorgeous book that I bought for my birthday was Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman, this book is simply stunning!

Neil Gaiman


14. NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET BUT WANT TO

I really want to read Tash Hearts Tolstoy byΒ Kathryn Ormsbee. Contemporary isn’t a genre that I generally gravitate towards, as I’m mostly not interested by the storiesΒ (with a few exceptions of course). This book has an asexual main character and I simply NEED to read it for that! If you didn’t know, I identify as asexual and I have never read a book about an asexual character before. I have heard amazing things about this book so far and I’m very exited to get my hands on it!

Tash Hearts Tolstoy


15. WHAT BOOK DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?

Or rather what books do I want to read by the end of the year. I really want to read more books by Victoria Schwab, who is one of my favourite authors. I want to finish the Shades of Magic series and I want to start the This Savage Song duology (maybe even finish that one as well). I know that I will love all of these books, I just simply NEED to get to them!


Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have an amazing day!

-Annaβ™₯

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

30 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag || 2017 Edition

    1. I’m glad that you loved my answers! πŸ˜€ A Darker Shade of Magic was amazing! I’m beyond exited to continue reading that trilogy and finding out what is going to happen next. Victoria Schwab is one of my favourite authors, so I definitely agree with you there! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. hello fellow ace!! i also identify as ace (gray ace) and i cannot wait to read Tash Hearts Tolstoy because of the same reasons you presented. i have yet to read a book with an asexual character. and i love that this book is getting huge positive buzz by fellow ace book lovers.

    i am currently reading A Darker Shade of Magic and *heart eyes* i cannot wait to devour a huge chunk later on tonight. i am so loving this book and the different Londons. ahhhhh! i might just marathon it.

    just like you, i cannot wait for The Language of Thorns, i absolutely love the Grishaverse and would gladly read anything Leigh comes out with.

    I hope you enjoy This Savage Song, it’s AMAZING!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! I always love meeting a fellow ace! πŸ˜€ It’s the same for me, I haven’t read any books with an asexual character either. And all the positive buzz, especially from fellow ace book lovers, is making me even more exited to pick it up!

      YESS for A Darker Shade of Magic!! I’m so glad to hear that you are loving it! It was such a fantastic book, as expected of Victoria Schwab. And all the different Londons are beyond fascinating! I can’t wait to continue reading the series.

      Leigh Bardugo is definitely one of my favourite authors and I will read anything that she writes, no matter what it’s about. I’m beyond exited for The Language of Thorns to be released! I just need more stories from the Grishaverse.

      I’m sure that I will! There hasn’t been a single Schwab book that I haven’t enjoyed. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OH great choices for this tag, Anna! I loved the whole Shade of Magic series and Kell is such a great character – I can’t wait for you to read the two remaining books and hope you’ll love them! πŸ™‚
    Agreed on The Forbidden Wish, everyone needs to read this book, it is just fabulous πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Marie! πŸ™‚ I’m so glad to hear that you loved the whole series, I’m beyond exited to continue reading it soon. Kell was definitely a great characters, though I adored Lila as well. πŸ™‚
      Yes, everyone needs to read that book!! It’s one I just can’t recommend enough. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The Language of Thorns sounds very interesting and I can’t wait for it to come out! (Obviously as it’s my most anticipated book.) πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to hear what you will think of The Star-Touched Queen, I really hope that you will love it as much as I did. I haven’t read anything like Tash Hearts Tolstoy and I can’t wait to read it! Thank you!! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great picks for this tag Anna. I’m glad to see A Darker Shade of Magic on this list, it’s an incredible book and actually A Conjuring of Light is my favourite book of this year so far. I feel like I have to have a V.E. Schwab book on my favourites list each year. Also The Star-Touched Queen is another favourite of mine, and definitely a book that made me happy as well! πŸ™‚
    I am so excited for The Language of Thorns, I’ve had in on pre-order ever since it was announced (pretty much anyways) and I’m counting down the days to its release now. It’s by Leigh Bardugo so that’s a guarantee it’s going to be amazing in my mind.
    Again great picks, and I hope the second half of your year is a great one! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth!! πŸ™‚ A Darker Shade of Magic was seriously incredible! I’m so glad to hear that A Conjuring of Light is your favourite book of the year so far, it makes me even more exited to continue with the series! I don’t think that’s really a surprise, Victoria Schwab is a fantastic writer and her books are always amazing. πŸ™‚ The Star-Touched Queen is definitely one of my favourites as well!
      The Language of Thorns is one I definitely need to pre-order as well! (I should be doing that some time soon actually.) Anything by Leigh Bardugo is going to be amazing, so I have no doubt about this one either. She is definitely one of my auto-buy authors that I will read anything by.
      Thank you!! I’m sure that the second half is going to be great as well! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, I’m excited for you to continue the series in my own way. I think it’s gets better with every book so hopefully A Conjuring of Light will end up being your favourite as well. πŸ™‚ She really is, and The Star-Touched Queen is just brilliant.
        I have so many books pre-ordered at the moment, saves me from having to remember the release date because I’m terrible with things like that.
        That’s all right! πŸ˜€ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved Monsters of Verity duology and I hope you love it too! I haven’t read ADSOM yet but I’m planning to read it soon. I’m going to read The Forbidden Wish this month and I really hope it doesn’t disappoint me. The Star Touched Queen is a wonderful book! I’m so glad you loved it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear that you loved that duology! I’m sure that I will enjoy it as well, as Victoria Schwab hasn’t disappointed me with any of her books. I really hope that you enjoy ADSOM, after all it’s one of my favourite books. πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy the Forbidden Wish as much as I did, I’ll look forward to hearing your thoughts on it. The Star-Touched Queen is definitely a wonderful book, I’m glad that you loved it as well! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay!! Another Schwab lover!! 😍 I’m reading A Darker Shade of Magic for the second time now before going on to book 2 😊 I’m also anticipating Language of Thorns. I love the cover also!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

