top five wednesday

Books That Aren’t Set In/Inspired By The Western World || Top Five Wednesday

Feature

Top Five Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @GingerReadsLainey and she has passed down the torch to Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. For more information and for future topics you can check out the goodreads group.


This week the topic is books that aren’t set in/inspired by the western world – meaning:  books that are set outside of North America and Western Europe or, if they are SFF, books that aren’t inspired by those places.

I really liked this weeks topic, so I knew that I had to participate! On my list are a few books that I haven’t read yet (they are all on the 5th place), but they are books that I have heard great things about. The other ones I have all read and I highly recommend all of them! Now, without much more rambling from my part, lets get into the list!


5. Books on my TBR

And I Darken by Kiersten White is set in Romania, during the time of the Ottoman Empire. The Tiger’s Daughter by K. Arsenault Rivera is inspired by Mongolia and Mongolian culture (as far as I’m aware, I might be wrong on this one). Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente is inspired by Russian myths and legends. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh is an retelling of A 1001 Nights set in the Middle East.


A Mortal Song

4. A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe

A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe is set in modern day Japan, but with elements of Japanese mythology woven into the story. Kami and magic exists in this world. I will be posting a full review of this book some time soon, if you are interested in more of my thoughts.


The Forbidden Wish

3. The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

The Forbidden Wish is an Aladdin retelling. The world and the story are inspired by the Middle East.

My full review of this book.


Roshani Chokshi

2. The Star Touched-Queen by Roshani Chokshi

The Star-Touched Queen is a Hades and Persephone retelling mixed with Indian folklore. A Crown of Wishes (which is a companion book to this one) is set in the same world, but I haven’t read that one yet.

My full review of this book.


1. Books by Leigh Bardugo

Both The Grisha trilogy and the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo are set in a fantasy world that is inspired by Russia and it’s culture. (I didn’t put the cover for Crooked Kingdom as it looks prettier with only four images.)

My full review for Six of Crows.

My full review for Crooked Kingdom.


Have you done this weeks Top Five Wednesday? Were any of these books on your list as well? Do let me know in the comments!

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have an amazing day!

-Anna♥

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

20 thoughts on “Books That Aren’t Set In/Inspired By The Western World || Top Five Wednesday

  1. I really loved The Wrath and The Dawn and The Forbidden Wish, both were so good at world-building, I loved it ❤
    I haven't read And I Darken but everyone's been recommending this book, so…I'm guessing we should read it soon? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved The Forbidden Wish! It was such an amazing book! ❤ I can't wait to get to The Wrath and the Dawn, it just seems like a book that I will adore!
      Yes, everyone's been recommending it so I guess we both should get to it sooner rather than later! 😀 But I'm also a mood reader, so who knows when it will actually happen!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. Every single book you’ve listed here is on my TBR– with the exception of Six of Crows, as I have already read that. It turns out I really enjoyed books set in non-western settings! I recently picked up a short story anthology called The Djinn Falls In Love and Other Stories all about djinn/jinn/genie tales. They are really intriguing. I would also add The Flame in the Mist to this collection as well. Sooooo many books! So little time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m always intrigued when I see that a book takes place in a non-western setting! It’s just amazing reading about other places and their mythologies – especially when you aren’t familiar with them. I’m so glad that I’m always finding new stories in this category! 😀 That anthology really sounds interesting. I though about adding The Flame in the Mist, but since I already added one book by the author I decided against it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

