wrap up

July was a month of ups and downs… || July Wrap Up

Monthly Wrap Up Green

July started off really great, then it went downhill and then it looked up again.

The beginning of the month meant that another university semester was over and that I finally had some free time. Finally being able to relax was amazing! This past semester was really busy for me, but also a lot of fun. I also had to write a 10 page paper, which I did do and I’m quiet pleased with how that turned out. In general I’m very happy with the previous semester, which is always great (especially since that isn’t always the case).

In the middle of the month I got sick and I was out for nearly a whole week. That wasn’t pleasant at all, since being sick never is. Then my mental health wasn’t the best and I was struggling with a lot of things. (Not going into any detail about that, as I don’t particularly feel like sharing.) That’s also the reason that I was very late to replying to comments and catching up to other peoples posts during that time. Sorry about that!

The last weekend of the month was simply amazing! I loved every moment of it!! My parents came to visit me and we spent Friday and Saturday together – we went to Schloss Schönbrunn and just spent time together. My best friend came to Vienna as well over that weekend and we spent Saturday and Sunday together – it was BEYOND amazing getting to catch up with her again!

So that was my July. It was both a good and a bad month. Hopefully August will be a better month for me!

Wrap Up

I didn’t actually end up reading that much this month, mostly because I got into a slump and because of everything I mentioned in personal update part of this post. (I just didn’t feel like reading, so I didn’t force myself.) The two books that I actually read I completed at the beginning of the month, since then I haven’t done much (or rather any) reading. Hopefully I will be able to read more in August! Anyway, onto the two books that I read in July!


Cormoran StrikeCareer of Evil by Robert Galbraith

5 out of 5 stars

This was such a fantastic book! It gripped me from page one and I simply couldn’t put it down. I NEEDED to know what was going on and what was going to happen next. This is definitely my favourite book in this series so far! The mystery was so compelling and I had no idea who was responsible for the happenings of this book until the end.

I adore both Cormoran and Robin! They are both amazing in their own way and I loved reading about them. It was also wonderful to learn more about their pasts and what they have been through. I simply love their friendship! (And then there is Matthew, but I disliked him since the first book, so nothing new there.)

I’m BEYOND exited for the next book in this series!


PersephonePersephone by Kaitlin Bevis

3 out of 5 stars

I very much enjoy reading retellings of various mythologies, they are just so much fun and I love seeing each authors interpretation of those myths. Sadly this retelling fell a little flat for me, which I found especially disappointing as I love the story of Hades and Persephone.

If you want more of my thoughts on this book, I have written a  GoodReads Review which you can check out.

I do plan on continuing this series in the future. I’m interested in seeing where the story will go, plus this book was simply fun to read and I’m hoping that the other books in this series will be like that as well.


Wrap Up

Book Reviews:

Tags:

Features:

Miscellaneous:


How was your June? Did you have a good month?

Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have an amazing day!

-Anna♥

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr

21 thoughts on “July was a month of ups and downs… || July Wrap Up

  1. Sorry you had so many ups and downs this month. But you’re right, when you don’t feel like reading and have a lot to deal with, there’s no point in forcing yourself to read. Hope you have an amazing August to make up for it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. July wasn’t the best month for me, but at least it ended on a high note! 🙂 Yeah, I read because it’s something that I enjoy doing – if I have to force myself to read then it loses the fun aspect and there really is no point in that. Thank you!! 🙂 I hope you have an amazing August as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I’m so sorry to hear July was a bit of a mixed bag for you Anna. Being sick is never nice and I completely get where you’re coming from with mental health issues because I have moments when I struggle with mine and it can really kick you to the ground. I really really hope you’re feeling better now, and I also hope August will be a much better month for you as well.
    I’m sorry Persephone was’t what you’d hoped either. I really enjoyed that book but I read it so long ago now I wonder if my feelings will have changed. I am a massive fan of Hades and Persephone retellings so part of me thinks I may have been more taken with that aspect than the actual story you know? 🙂
    Anyways, great recap, and I hope you have an amazing August as well! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, July really wasn’t the best month for me, but it did have it’s good moments as well! 🙂 Being sick is seriously the worst and mental health issues are never fun as well. I’m feeling a lot better now and I’m beyond happy about that! 😀 Thank you!!
      I completely get that! I adore Hades and Persephone retellings as well. ❤ I just thought that Persephone was a bit rushed with everything, I would have enjoyed it a lot more if the book was longer and the story was expanded. I just felt that the transitions between the scenes were way too rushed. Still, it was a fun read and I enjoyed it quiet a bit! 🙂
      Thank you!! I hope you have an amazing August as well! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, July really wasn’t my month (for the most part). Career of Evil was amazing and I can’t believe I waited this long to pick that book up, as I have owned it for months. Well, I can only recommend that series – plus it gets better with each book as well! 😉 Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

