tag

The Totally Should’ve Book Tag

Tag

I was tagged by the amazing Melissa @Book Nerd Momo to do this tag. Thank you once more! ❤ 😀 Be sure to check out her blog!


1. Totally Should’ve Gotten A Sequel

Okay. Lets be clear about something: The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury was simply fantastic as a standalone. The story wrapped up beautifully and I loved how everything turned out to be. BUT I just need more Zahra and Aladdin in my life! I just want to read more about them and their adventures. I would love for even a novella, if not a whole book. (Oh, you should definitely read this book if you haven’t yet!)

The Forbidden Wish


2. Totally Should’ve Gotten A Spin-Off Series

WARNING: I’m totally going to ramble about Harry Potter for a bit.

There are sooo many spin-off series that I want from the Harry Potter series! (Like a lot of other people, probably.) I think I just want more and more from this world. Here are some spin-off series/books that I would love to have:

  • The Marauders Era – I would love to read about their adventures and how they all met. I would especially LOVE those books to be from Sirius’ point of view, as I would love to see the relationships and politics in a pure blood family. (Plus, he is one of my favourite characters so there is that as well.)
  • The Founders Era – I think the establishing of Hogwarts would be such an interesting story! After all, we have heard about the four Founders, but wouldn’t it be amazing to read about their adventures and lives?
  • Voldemort’s time at Hogwarts – I’m fascinated by teenage Voldemort (have always been) and how he established his following. It would really be interesting to read about, his backstory always intrigued me. Plus it would be fascinating to read from his point of view (both when he was sane and later as well).
  • Hogwarts a History – Ummm…I just REALLY want that book to exist! It’s referenced sooo many times throughout the Harry Potter series and I would love to have a copy of it as well. It would be amazing to have the whole history of Hogwarts in one place and be able to actually read it.

Okay…I have seriously rambled enough about Harry Potter. Moving on!


3. An Author Who Should Write More Books

The first person that came to my mind when I saw this question was Erin Morgenstern. The Night Circus is one of my all time favourite books, I simply ADORED everything about it. Her writing style is one of the most beautiful that I have ever encountered. Sadly she hasn’t written any other books yet. Though I’m hoping with each day that there will be an announcement that she is coming out with another book!

The Night Circus


4. A Character Who Totally Should’ve Ended Up With Someone Else

I really wanted Alina to end up with someone else. Or anybody else for that matter, other than the person she chose in the end. This is the only pairing where I’m VERY unhappy with the way things turned out to be. That has probably to do with the fact that I hated the person she picked. I don’t think I will ever get over this…Sigh. (I read this series years ago and it’s still bothering me a lot.)


5. Totally Should’ve Had A Movie Franchise

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin was such a fast and action packed book! The setting of the story is very interesting as well and I would love to see it on screen. I just have a feeling that this book would make an amazing movie! It’s definitely one that I would love to see. I have heard that the second book of this duology is amazing as well, but I have yet to read it so I can’t say anything about that yet.

Wolf by Wolf


6. Totally Should’ve Kept The Original Covers

The Diviners has one of the most beautiful covers that I have ever seen. The hardcover edition (which I own) is even more beautiful, as it has very pretty gold details under the dust-jacket. For some reason the publishers decided to change the covers for the other books in this series and all of them are beyond bad. Seriously, each is worse than the one before.

The Diviners


7. Totally Should’ve Stopped At Book One

This is kind of a cheat answer, as I haven’t actually read the rest of the series. Anyway, I read The Maze Runner by James Dashner and I remember enjoying it. (Though I didn’t love it and I had problems with it.) I was unsure whether I wanted to continue the series or not. A TON of people told me that the series only got worse and worse, so I decided to look up spoiler and I had to agree – this series just went downhill.

The Maze Runner


I TAG:

As always, if you have already done this tag or simply don’t feel like doing it just ignore me. No pressure! 🙂


Thank you very much for reading and I hope that you have an amazing day!

-Anna♥

Twitter Goodreads | Tumblr

41 thoughts on “The Totally Should’ve Book Tag

  1. Great answers for this tag, Anna! I SO agree with you about The Forbidden Wish – it was a fabulous standalone, but… I miss these characters and the world so much, I wouldn’t say no if the author decided to extend the series a little bit, even just with a novella or something, ahah. It would be SO GREAT.
    Thank you for tagging me! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Marie! 🙂 Forbidden Wish as a standalone was wonderful, I’m just craving more stories about the characters from it! Having a novella would be AMAZING, a companion book that follows other characters set in the same world would be great as well. You’re welcome! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is a well written book :3 I have never read anything like it so far. She wrote a unique story with unique images. I’m not sure if there will be a sequel or if it will be as good, but another book will be, I hope, an amazing trip!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much for the tag Anna, also great answers. I agree with so so many of these. 😀
    I would love to see more from the Harry Potter universe, I especially want more from the Marauder era Hogwarts, that would be amazing! Also yes I would definitely love to see more books from Erin Morgenstern. The Night Circus is an all-time favourite of mine and I just want more from the author who came up with the concept for that story.
    Again great answers, and thanks for the tag! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! 😀 Thank you, I’m glad that you agree with many of them!
      I have to agree, the Marauders era is definitely the one that I’m most interested as well. We can only hope that J.K.Rowling will write those books one day! I just NEED more books by Erin Morgenstern in my life, I’m really hoping that a new book by her is going to be announced some time in the future! The Night Circus is also one of my all time favourite books and I completely agree!
      Haha, you’re welcome! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The original Diviners cover is beyond beautiful and I honestly have no idea why they felt the need to change it. They should have just stuck with it! It would be really fascinating to have a book about a young Voldemort, plus I was always intrigued about the adventures of the Marauders so reading about them would be amazing!

      Like

    1. This tag is just so much fun! 😀 The original cover of The Diviners is beyond beautiful, I have no idea why they decided to change it. Having books about the Marauders era would definitely be EPIC! We can only hope that Rowling will write them one day.

      Like

  3. First off, thank you for tagging me! 😀 Second I love all your Harry Potter ideas! They are all things I’ve never thought of to be a book, but now that you’ve put these ideas in my head, I love them and want them to be real, ha!
    I read all of the Maze Runner books, even the prequels, and I have to say they weren’t bad, but I can see your reasoning to stick to the first one! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! 😀 Haha, I’m glad that you love my Harry Potter ideas! Also sorry for putting them in your head, as they will probably never come true 😅 but we can still hope!
      I’m glad that you enjoyed them! I just don’t have the time to read them, nor do I actually feel like reading them. I think I will just watch all the movies! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great answers! I TOTALLY AGREE ABOUT THE HARRY POTTER SPINOFFS. I really want a Marauder Era one???? Like super bad. And I’m glad Fantastic Beasts is like the Grindelwald era spinoff like that’s pretty cool. Also there were so many little legends about the Founders and I just want more????

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! Harry Potter definitely needs spinoff series! 😀 Having the Marauders one would be beyond amazing, I just want to read about their adventures!! I’m really liking the time period of Fantastic Beasts and I’m beyond exited for more movies to come out!! YES, there were so many little legends about the Founders and I just NEED to know more about them!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks so much for the tag!!! Will definitely do this one as soon as I can ❤

    AND OMG I AGREE WITH THE DIVINERS! I have the new paperback edition and it’s so ugly, I just. No. My heart. Breaking. (But I still want read it so I made myself buy it, huhu).

    Also, Harry Potter spin-offs. I would love it if JK Rowling ever writes them (especially on the Founders’ Era!) but I’m also conflicted cause with the vast ocean of Harry Potter fanfiction now, official spin-offs on the Marauder Era and Voldemort’s time at Hogwarts might end up like Harry Potter and the Cursed Child?? Idk, it’s awesome when headcannons are confirmed but also a little disheartening since something more was expected?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome!! I hope you have as much fun with it as I did! ❤
      I do own the original hardcover for The Diviners and it's BEYOND beautiful!! I honestly have no idea why they thought it would be a good idea to change it… I read the book a few years ago and really enjoyed it, so at least the story is good if nothing else! 😅
      A Founders era spinoff would be amazing, I would just love to learn more about the beginning of Hogwarts! I haven't actually read Cursed Child yet, mostly because of the reviews and the things people have been saying about it (though I do plan to read it eventually). Yeah, it definitely can be disheartening…but I think the problem with Cursed Child was that it's a script and not a full book and that multiple people worked on it and not J.K. Rowling alone. (Though I'm not an expert on that since I haven't actually read it yet.)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ikr? I mean, I get that they’re trying to give it a more obvious 1920’s feel but it’s just…not pretty 😭
        Ohhh, if you haven’t read a lot of HP fanfiction before (especially the ones on the new generation), then I think you can get into Cursed Child’s story a little better. I was basically just ‘Didn’t I read this in like 10 fanfictions before???’ the whole time 😅 And, I think you’re right! I haven’t started on the Fantastic Beasts original script yet so I can’t compare but there were definitely too many people working on one incredibly important project.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hahaha, I have read A TON of Harry Potter fanfiction! 😅 They are my favourite to read, though I haven’t gotten around many about the new generation – rather I have barely read any so that shouldn’t be a problem. (That’s probably because I didn’t like the epilogue and in general I didn’t like Hermione with Ron or Ginny with Harry… 😅)

          Like

  6. Great Choices! I totally agree with you on Forbidden wish! This book definitely needs a sequel. I loved Grisha Trilogy but I didn’t liked how she finally ended up with the boring Mall and not Nik. I recently finished Wolf and Wolf and it was absolutely amazing. It would definitely make an awesome movie. I’m planning to pick up the sequel soon so I’m very excited to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I would love to have a sequel to The Forbidden Wish, or at least a companion novel set in the same world. Same – I loved the Grisha trilogy, but I really wanted her to end with Nikolai. They would have made an amazing couple and I would have loved to see them rule together! I’m really glad to hear that you enjoyed Wolf by Wolf, it’s seriously an amazing book!! 😀 I hope you enjoy the sequel as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Let’s be real- we need a Marauders series!! AND OMG YES FROM SIRIUS’ POV (he’s my fave from that series too) Yes to more books by Morgenstern!! I agree so so much about Alina ending up with *anyone* else- I did not ship her and Mal. Not at all. Not even a little. (I’m clearly not over it either 😉 ) Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES!! Having a Marauders series would be freaking amazing! I adore Sirius and reading from his POV would be wonderful – I’m really curious about his childhood as well. Erin Morgenstern definitely NEEDS to write more books!! I want them in my life! I didn’t ship them at all either, Mal was just sooo boring and she could have done so much better. (I don’t think I will ever get over it!) Thank you!! 🙂

      Like

  8. !! Thank you for the tag, Anna– this is super fun! I love you answers. Because PLEASE WRITE MORE BOOKS RIGHT NOW ERIN MORGENSTERN! I WILL DO PRACTICALLY ANYTHING. ANYTHING. And those Harry Potter spin-off series are amazing. I’d definitely read them.

    Wait. Now that you selected Erin Morgenstern, who will I choose for that question? Hmmm…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome Jackie! 🙂 It really was a fun tag to do. YES!! She NEEDS to write more books! I’m praying that she will announce another book soon!! Haha, I’m glad that you liked my Harry Potter spin-off ideas!
      Well, you could choose her as well! 😀 Or try to think of anyone else who desperately needs to write more books!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

